Library: GER 101: Elementary German I: Find Resources

Keywords

Here's some keywords to use in your searches. Remember to use terms that will narrow your search!

Afrikaans
Allgemeine Zeitung i
Austria
Belgium
Bohemian German
Brothers Grimm
Deutsch
Dialect continuum
Dialectal
Early New High German
Elbe Germanic group
Evangelical Lutheran Church in Namibia (GELK)
Indo-European language family
German
German alphabet
German Braille
German diaspora
German-English cognates
German Sprachraum
Germanic
Germany
Liechtenstein
Low Rhenish-dialect
Middle High German
Namibia
Namibian Black German
Old High German
Pluricentric language
Prussian dialects
Regional dialects
Second Germanic consonant shift
South Tyrol
Standard German
Switzerland
Voiced stop
Voiceless stop
Wilhelm Scherer
Word-initial

Discovery Search

Alter this sample text to fit your needs

Get a detailed expert-written company profile by typing...

Apple and company profile
Apple and SWOT
Substitute Apple with your company or industry in this example.

Use the left column to narrow the results to

"Full Text from Montco"
publication date to the last 5 years

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete
What's included: Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Uses include: Searching index and abstracts records for various journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Films on Demand
What's included: More than 20,000 streaming educational films on every academic topic. Uses include: Watch a documentary on human nature or dance history while on the go.
HathiTrust Digital Library
What's included: Digitized primary source material from research libraries. Uses include: Full-text literature, cookbooks, history, and art history resources.
JStor (including Artstor)
What's included: Journal articles in humanities, history, culture and the sciences and artwork from some of the most famous museums in the world. Uses include: Full-text books, scholarly articles, conference proceedings, images focused on historical and present-day art topics. Artstor's content includes millions of images and multimedia across disciplines, which is free to use for educational and research purposes.
Kanopy
What's included:Streaming Independent films and Documentaries. Uses include: Watch one of the hundreds of films already in our collection or request a new one for the library.
Literary Reference Center Plus
What's included: Stories, poems, and novel criticisms and author analysis. Uses include: Review more than 150,000 poems and short stories by region, language, and style.
MasterFILE Premier
What's included: General business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural newspapers and magazines. Uses include: Review updated daily biographies, country reports, and speeches.
Newspaper Source
What's included: Articles from more than 160 American and international regional newspapers. Uses include: Review updated TV and radio news transcripts and syndicated content.
Philadelphia Inquirer (Newspaper Source)
What's included: Inquirer news, feature and sports articles since 1997. Uses include: Review newer articles on the history of the Philadelphia area.

Library Journals & Magazines

Feminist German Studies
Feminist German Studies is a refereed publication presenting a wide range of feminist approaches to all aspects of German literature, culture, and language, including pedagogy. Reflecting the interdisciplinary perspectives that inform feminist German studies, each issue contains critical inquiries employing gender and other analytical categories to examine the work, history, life, literature, and arts of the German-speaking world. FGS is the flagship journal of the Coalition of Women in German.
German History
Principally covers the history of Germany & other German- speaking areas, but also covers other aspects of German life & culture which have a clear historical relevance.
German Politics
Forum for academic debate & political analysis on Germany, its changing role in European & world affairs, & its internal structures including political economy, consitutional law & social analysis (Note: One-year delay for issues).
The German Quarterly
In four issues per year, The German Quarterly brings you the best in literary and cultural studies. Also included are book reviews and special reports and forums (Note: Four-year delay for issues).
Journal of Austrian Studies
The Journal of Austrian Studies is an interdisciplinary quarterly that publishes scholarly articles and book reviews on all aspects of the history and culture of Austria, Austro-Hungary, and the Habsburg territory. It is the flagship publication of the Austrian Studies Association and contains contributions in German and English from the world’s premiere scholars in the field of Austrian studies.

EBSCO Discovery Search Tutorial

Video Credit: EBSCO Tutorials, April 2, 2025.