Library: ITA 101: Elementary Italian I : Find Resources

Keywords

Here's some keywords to use in your searches. Remember to use terms that will narrow your search!

Accademia della Crusca
Agnolo Monosini
Baldassare Castiglione
Bards
Dante Alighieri
Florence
Floris italicae linguae libri novem
Florentine dialect
Gian Giorgio Trissino
Graziadio Isaia Ascoli
Humanism
Indo-European language family
Italian
Italy
Italo-Dalmatian
Italian diaspora
Italian dialects
Italian Libyan
Italian loanwords
Latin
Lingua franca (common language)
Ligurian (Genoese)
Medici Bank
Mediterranean Lingua Franca
Milanese Italian
Neapolitan
Niccolò Machiavelli a
Pietro Bembo
Questione della lingua (i.e., The Problem of the Language)
Regional Italian
Renaissance
Roman Catholic Church
Roman Empire
Roman Italian
Romance language
Romance vernacular
Sardinian
Savoyard sway
Syntactic gemination
Tullio De Mauro
Tuscan
Tuscan-derived Italian
Vatican City
Venetian
Vulgar Latin ( e.g., Popular or Colloquial Latin)

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
What's included: Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Uses include: Searching index and abstracts records for various journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
What's included: More than 20,000 streaming educational films on every academic topic. Uses include: Watch a documentary on human nature or dance history while on the go.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
What's included: Digitized primary source material from research libraries. Uses include: Full-text literature, cookbooks, history, and art history resources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
What's included: Journal articles in humanities, history, culture and the sciences and artwork from some of the most famous museums in the world. Uses include: Full-text books, scholarly articles, conference proceedings, images focused on historical and present-day art topics.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
What's included:Streaming Independent films and Documentaries. Uses include: Watch one of the hundreds of films already in our collection or request a new one for the library.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
What's included: Stories, poems, and novel criticisms and author analysis. Uses include: Review more than 150,000 poems and short stories by region, language, and style.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
What's included: General business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural newspapers and magazines. Uses include: Review updated daily biographies, country reports, and speeches.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
What's included: Articles from more than 160 American and international regional newspapers. Uses include: Review updated TV and radio news transcripts and syndicated content.

Library Journals & Magazines

Adamantius: Rivista Del Gruppo Italiano Di Ricerca Su Origene E La Tradizione Alessandrina = Journal Of The Italian Research Group On Origen And The Alexandrian Tradition
Promotes the study of Origen within the Alexandrian, Hellenistic, and Judeo-Christian Traditions.
Business Wire (Italian)
In a world where thousands of news releases are shared every day, break through with the most experienced, trusted newswire and gain the visibility your news deserves.
Italian Journal of Food Science / Rivista Italiana di Scienza degli Alimenti
Provides information for the fields food science & technology, nutrition, microbiology & safety.

EBSCO Discovery Search Tutorial

Video Credit: EBSCO Tutorials, Sep 19, 2023.