Library: ENG 255: Women in Literature: Find Resources

Keywords & Themes

Here's some keywords to use in your searches. Remember to use terms that will narrow your search!

A.S. Byatt
African literature
Afrofuturism
Agatha Christie
Alice Walker
Alison Bechdel
Ambition
Amy Tan
Anaïs Nin
Angela Carter
Anna Luisa
Anne Brontë
Anne Frank
Anne Rice
Anne Tyler
Arundhati Roy
Audre Lorde
Autonomy
Barbara Cartland
Beth Morgan
Betty Friedan
Carmen Martín Gaite
Charlotte Brontë
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Clarissa Pinkola
Constance Fenimore Woolson
Danielle Steel
Daphne du Maurier
Debbie Macomber
Diana Gabaldon
Diane di Prima
Donna Tartt
Edith Wharton
Edna St. Vincent Millay
Elizabeth Acevedo
Elsa Gidlow
Feminism
Feminism in literature
Feminist theory
Freedom
Gendered racism
Gertude Stein
Harper Lee
Harriet Beecher Stowe
Hilary Mantel
Ida B. Wells
Identity (Philosophical concept) in literature
Intersectionality (Sociology)
Jackie Collins
Jane Austen
Jean Rhys
Jessamine Chan
Jojo Moyes
Judy Blume
Julia Álvarez,
Kate Chopin
Kristin Hannah
L. M. Montgomery
Laura Esquivel
Lesbian feminist theory
Lesbianism in literature
Leslie Marmon Silko
Louisa May Alcott
Madeleine L’Engle
Magical realism
Male chauvinism
Margaret Atwood
Marjane Satrapi
Marriage
Mary Higgins Clark
Mary Karr
Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
Maxine Hong Kingston
Maya Angelou
Mina Loy
Misogynoir
Misogyny
Motherhood
Muriel Spark
Natalie Goldberg
Nora Roberts
Octavia E. Butler
Passion
Rachel Carson
Rebecca Harding Davis
Rebellion
Relationships
Right to Vote
Roxane Gay
Sandra Cisneros
Sappho of Lesbos
Sarah Orne Jewett
S.E. Hinton
Second wave of feminism
Self-growth
Sexism
Sexuality
Sheryl Sandberg
Shirley Jackson
Suffragette
Sylvia Plath
Toni Morrison
Ursula K. Le Guin
Queer theory
Valeria Luiselli
Violence
Virginia Woolf
Willa Cather
Womanism
Woman's tradition
Women
Women's canon
Women's liberation / Women's Lib
Women's studies
Wu Tsao
Yaa Gyasi
Zadie Smith
Zora Neale Hurston

Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources

What the difference between a primary, secondary, and tertiary source?

Primary sources are created as close to the original event or phenomenon as it is possible to be. For example, a photograph or video of an event is a primary source. More examples: Data from an experiment is a primary source, letters, journals, articles, speeches, video recordings, works of art, and books.
Secondary sources are one step removed from that. Secondary sources are based on or about the primary sources. For example, articles and books in which authors interpret data from another research team's experiment or archival footage of an event are usually considered secondary sources. More examples: Books written about an original event, artwork, or literary resources, biographies, essays, literacy criticisms, and commentaries.
Tertiary sources are one further step removed from that. Tertiary sources summarize or synthesize the research in secondary sources. For example, almanacs, fact books, textbooks, bibliographies, dictionaries, indexes, textbooks, and reference books are tertiary sources (Text in this section is from Suny Empire College's guide: Research Skills Tutorial).

Why is this important?

For your research assignments, you are asked to find primary, secondary, and tertiary sources. You'll need to be able to recognize the difference between all three. Remember primary sources are about the event. Secondary sources analyze the event and interpret another author's work. Tertiary sources summarize events from other authors after the event has occurred.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
What's included: Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Uses include: Searching index and abstracts records for various journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
What's included: Offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies. Uses included: Searching the full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
What's included: Our largest online reference collection. Uses include: Resources for study such as atlases, biographies, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
What's included: Search and read full-length e-books for reference, social sciences, medicine, art, information technology, and more. Uses include: Browse the cooking categories for more information about the history of cooking, recipes, and more.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
What's included: Stories, poems, and novel criticisms and author analysis. Uses include: Review more than 150,000 poems and short stories by region, language, and style.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
What's included: Search articles from literary criticism reference books 2009-2010. Literary criticism tools such as word use in literature 1895-2010. Uses include: index to print Literary Criticism collection in library.
Salem Press: Literature This link opens in a new window
What's included: Overviews, essays, and literary criticism of selected novels, plays, and poems from a variety of reference and critical works. Uses include: Search for research starter topics such as LGBTQ literature, short stories, and Southern Gothic.

Tutorial & Disability Services

Disability Services
We're committed to the success of all students and to everyone having equal access to programs, events and facilities. To aid us, we've established a Disability Services department to provide support and accommodations to students with disabilities and resources to faculty and staff. ****We're committed to the success of all students and to everyone having equal access to programs, events and facilities. To aid us, we've established a Disability Services department to provide support and accommodations to students with disabilities and resources to faculty and staff.*** Contact: Blue Bell – Email disabilities@mc3.edu or call 215-641-6575. Pottstown – Email westdisab@mc3.edu or call 610-718-1853.
Online Tutoring at MCCC
Guideline online tutoring here at MCCC! Contact: tutoring@mc3.edu.
Tutorial Services
Need help with math or studying? Whether you're looking for assistance in organizing notes, writing a paper or taking a test, our tutors are available to support you. Contact: tutoring@mc3.edu.

Journals & Magazines

Helicon Nine
Literature, poetry, historical articles, essays, original art, showing the breadth & richness of women's creative achievements.
Room Magazine
Canada's oldest literary journal by, for, and about women. Showcases fiction, poetry, reviews, art work, interviews and profiles about the female experience.
Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature
Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature is a scholarly journal devoted to the study of the relations between women and writing of every period and in all languages. Publishing articles, notes, archival research, and reviews, Tulsa Studies seeks path-breaking literary, historicist, and theoretical work by both established and emerging scholars.
Women's Review of Books
Book reviews for and about women presented in a wide range of feminist perspectives.
Women: A Cultural Review
Women: a cultural review explores the role and representation of gender and sexuality in arts and culture, with a particular focus on the contemporary world. The journal analyses the theory and politics of sexual difference in literature, the media, history, education, law, philosophy, psychanalysis and the performing and visual arts.
WSQ: Women's Studies Quarterly
Since 1972 WSQ (formerly Women's Studies Quarterly) has been an interdisciplinary forum for the exchange of emerging perspectives on women, gender, and sexuality. WSQ is a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal published in June and December. Each thematic issue is guest edited and combines contemporary developments in feminist theory and scholarship with essays, poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction, and the visual arts.

EBSCO Discovery Search Tutorial

Video Credit: EBSCO Tutorials, Sep 19, 2023.