ENG 255: Women in Literature

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century guide includes a digital collection of published works by 19th-century black women writers, biographies for each author, citations and much more from the NYPL.

The Archives of Feminism is a feminist archives of private origin, both personal and associative, accessible and accessible for research. A part of the Center for Archives of Feminism in Angers, the Archives works closely with the Marguerite Durand and La Contemporaine library.

Biblioteca Italiana delle Donne is the principal collection specialized in women’s culture, gender and feminist studies.

​The British Women Romantic Poets Project is a digital initiative of the UC Davis General Library.

Collective Biographies of Women, with its annotated bibliography, growing archive of texts, resources featuring individual women, and new tools for interpreting prosopography, is an experiment in digital humanities focused on a widespread genre, the collection of short biographies.

The Colored Girls Museum is a memoir museum, which honors the stories, experiences, and history of ordinary Colored Girls. This museum initiates the object—submitted by the colored girl herself, as representative of an aspect of her story and personal history, which she finds meaningful; her object embodies her experience and expression of being a Colored Girl. The Colored Girls Museum is headquartered in the historic neighborhood of Germantown in Philadelphia, an area renowned for its compliment of historic buildings and homes.

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.

Manuscripts, correspondence, and photographs documenting the life and career of Edith Wharton.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.

The Free Black Women's Library, is an interactive Black Feminist mobile trading library and interactive biblio installation that features a collection of 1000 books written by Black women. The library is committed to centering and celebrating the voices of Black Women in literature. This mobile library pops up monthly in unique and radical spaces throughout Brooklyn, NYC and has also been to Detroit, Chicago, Philadelphia and Baltimore.

Gifts of Speech is a non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary, women from around the world. The idea for the project originated when Liz Kent León, a college librarian, was asked to help a student find a speech by Gloria Steinem. Ms. León assumed it would be easy to locate a speech by Ms. Steinem, and was surprised when she could not find one in any of the resources available within her small college library. But this episode made her aware of the opportunity to find a way to make it easier for secondary school and undergraduate women to access the words of women in leadership.

Jessie Street National Women’s Library is a unique specialist library dedicated to the preservation of Australian women’s work, words and history. The Library was established in 1989 and is named after Jessie Street, a lifelong campaigner for women’s rights, the peace movement and the elimination of discrimination against Aboriginal people.

​The Women’s Library and the Information Center Foundation in Instanbul, Turkey.

Women’s libraries are now in scarce supply across the country and the Nottingham Women’s Centre library is the only one of its kind in the East Midlands. The library still holds most of the original – and often rare – books and magazines which were donated in the 1970s/80s when the library was first set up, as well as more contemporary works.

​The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare.

University of Minnesota professors Toni McNaron (English) and Carol Miller (American Studies and American Indian Studies) founded VG/Voices from the Gaps in 1996 to uncover, highlight, and share the works of marginalized artists, predominately women writers of color living and working in North America. The pioneering site’s focus was largely educational, aimed at a diverse audience of students in secondary schools and institutions of higher education. Created just as Internet use exploded, VG reached a global readership and cultivated a collaborative and intercommunal group of scholars, students, educators, and women artists. Students, volunteers, and VG readers submitted the majority of the site’s entries, including author biographies, book reviews, academic essays, and interviews with women artists. Additionally, the site’s creators developed a robust selection of pedagogical materials to help instructors incorporate VG resources in secondary school and undergraduate classrooms.

The Women in Publishing Oral History website celebrates the achievements of women in book publishing during the 1970s, ’80s and ’90s – vital decades for both feminism and professional advancement of women in the UK. Coming together in 1979 to create their own networking organisation, members of Women in Publishing remember the challenges they faced, the problems they overcame, and how, through striving for greater equality, they changed the industry in which they worked.

​This collection includes 448 digitized photographs selected from approximately 2,650 print photographs in the Records of the National Woman's Party, a collection of more than 438,000 items, housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress.

An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression from Harvard Library.

The Women’s Library and Information Centre Foundation is the first and only women’s library in Turkey. It was founded in 1989 in order to collect credible and extensive information about women, which in turn contributes to the preservation of women’s histories in Turkey. The Foundation has successfully completed various national and international projects, each of which has enabled the Library to become a venue where researchers from all over the world come for resources about women’s issues. For instance, the library organised an international symposium in 1991 entitled “International Women’s Library Symposium”. This attracted various women’s libraries and organisations across the world, such as the Fawcett Library from the UK, Schlesinger Library from the USA, the Marguerite Durand Library from France, and the Institute on Gender Equality and Women’s History from the Netherlands. In 1996, the British Council supported the library’s oral history project which focused on twelve female politicians born before 1923.

American Association of University Women advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research. AAUW (formerly known as the American Association of University Women) is a nationwide network of more than 100,000 members and donors, 1,000 branches and 500 college and university institution partners.

The Association for Women in Communications (AWC) is the premier organization for empowering women like you with the strength, support, and tools for elevating your career, personal growth and becoming an agent of change.

The mission of Black Girls Code is to increase the number of women of color in the digital space by empowering girls of color ages 7 to 17 to become innovators in STEM fields, leaders in their communities, and builders of their own futures through exposure to computer science and technology. Their aim is to provide African American youth with the skills to occupy some of the 1.4 million computing job openings now open and to train 1 million girls by 2040.

The Institute for Women's Leadership is a consortium of ten units at Rutgers-New Brunswick dedicated to the study of women and gender, to advocacy on behalf of gender equity, and to the promotion of women’s leadership locally, nationally and globally.

The National Council of Jewish Women is a volunteer organization that has been at the forefront of social change through championing the needs of women, children, and families — while taking a progressive stance on such issues as child welfare, women’s rights, and reproductive freedom.

The National Council of Negro Women is a council of national African-American women’s organizations and community-based sections. NCNW’s mission is to lead, develop and advocate for women of African descent as they support their families and communities. NCNW fulfills this purpose through research, advocacy and national and community-based services and programs.

The largest organization of feminist activists in the United States, NOW has 500,000 contributing members and 550 chapters in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Since its founding in 1966, NOW’s goal has been to take action to bring about equality for all women.

Established in 1977, the National Women's Studies Association has as one of its primary objectives promoting and supporting the production and dissemination of knowledge about women and gender through teaching, learning, research and service in academic and other settings. NWSA recognizes that women's studies is broader than what happens in the classroom and acknowledges women's centers staff as feminist educators. Campus-based women's centers have a long history of working together with women's studies to transform the curriculum, the campus environment, and society at large.

The National Women’s History Alliance formerly, the National Women’s History Project, is a leader in promoting Women’s History and is committed to the goals of education, empowerment, equality, and inclusion.

Women In Film & Television International (WIFTI) is a global network comprised of nearly 40 Women in Film chapters worldwide with more than 10,000 members, dedicated to advancing professional development and achievement for women working in all areas of film, video, and other screen-based media. Membership includes dynamic professionals who represent every aspect of the industry: from producers and directors to accountants and lawyers, from camera and sound technicians to actors and animators.

ColorComm is the nation’s leading women’s platform addressing diversity & inclusion across the communications, marketing, advertising, media, and digital industries.

Zonta International is a global organization of executives and professionals working together to advance the status of women worldwide through service and advocacy. With more than 31,000 members in 66 countries and geographic areas, members volunteer their time, talents and support to local and international service projects as well as scholarship programs.

Athenian aims to cultivate a creative, inclusive space for marginalized voices, to provide tools and resources for women, femmes, people of color, trans, and gender nonconforming writers, and to transform the world of publishing by disrupting oppressive constructs of femininity, sexuality, and race

Regardless of your stage or goals in the writing process, NEWIM is here to help!

​The International Edith Wharton Society, founded by Professor Annette Zilversmit, met for the first time on December 17, 1983, at the MLA Convention in New York City. Since that time, members of the Society have seen Edith Wharton take her place in the canon of important American literary figures. We are proud of the role that the Society has played in fostering Wharton scholarship.

The Society's mission is to illuminate the life and writings of Edna St. Vincent Millay and to preserve and interpret the character of Steepletop, her home, and gardens, places where nature inspires the creative spirit

The Emily Dickinson International Society was incorporated in 1988 in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to promote, perpetuate, and enhance the study and appreciation of Emily Dickinson throughout the world.

Welcome to a monthly feminist book club with a difference. Join us on the third Wednesday of every month at Waterstones Tottenham Court Road to celebrate feminist authors of fiction and non-fiction, from escapist beach reads to Big Ideas. Be inspired by the themes of the books we discuss, and get involved with questions and debates. This event is about coming together, sharing ideas, having fun, meeting new people and championing the fight for equality through everything we’re thinking, reading and writing.

The Uganda Women Writers Association - FEMRITE is an indigenous, non-governmental, non-profit making women’s organization publishing, training and promoting writers.

​The GCLS is the leading lesbian-themed literary organization for editors, publishers, readers, writers, and friends/supporters. The GCLS is inclusive, welcoming, professional, and financially viable. As a versatile organization, we strive to recognize changes in our community, our literary industry, our membership needs, and social trends. We align our initiatives to these changes when and as appropriate.

​The mission of the National League of American Pen Women is to support and promote creative excellence and professional standards among women in the arts.

The mission of the Society shall be the promotion of the study of American women writers through the encouragement of research, teaching, publication, and the strengthening of relations among persons and institutions in this country and abroad devoted to such studies, and the broadening of knowledge among the general public about American women writers.

The Toni Morrison Society was founded May 28, 1993, at the annual meeting of the American Literature Association in Baltimore, Maryland. At the invitation of Carolyn Denard, then an Associate Professor of English at Georgia State University, twenty-six scholars and supporters of Morrison's work met in Baltimore to establish the Toni Morrison Society as an official member of the coalition of American author societies that comprise the American Literature Association. With its founding, the Toni Morrison Society became the 41st author society of the Association and the fourth dedicated to an African American author.

Women's Fiction Writers Association was founded in 2013 as a professional, enriching, supportive, and diverse international community for writers of women’s fiction. We believe that women’s fiction heightens human connection, engenders empathy, and illuminates new perspectives. By consciously supporting all voices and providing tools and resources to rigorously develop craft, the Women’s Fiction Writers Association fosters successful careers, meaningful relationships, and the creation of resonant, diverse stories.

The Women’s National Book Association was established in 1917, before women in America had the right to vote. ​The WNBA’s founding idea—that books have power and that those involved in their creation gain strength from joining forces—reaches across the decades to now serve members in 11 chapters across the country and network members in between.