CJS 107: Criminal Procedure and Rules of Evidence
Databases for Criminal Justice topics
The following databases are recommended as a starting point for research on topics related to Criminal Justice.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Reports on current issues include issue overview, maps and graphs, pro-con arguments, chronology, interest group listings, and more. Uses include: Review full-text reports on hot topics for research papers.
- Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new windowWhat's Include: Homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities. Uses include: Review Presidential Documents (PDs) from the last sixteen U.S. Presidents.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Journal articles stretching back more than 75 years in humanities, history, culture and the sciences. Uses include: Full-text books, scholarly articles, and conference proceedings focused on art-related topics.
- Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new windowWhat's Included: Federal and state laws and regulations, and court rulings. Also state law comparisons, legal encyclopedia and annotated U.S. Constitution. Uses include: Review the lawyer directory and a legal encyclopedia featuring information on business law, employment law, family law, and more.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Current news and journal articles on all branches of the military and government. Uses include: Review topics such as engineering, public affairs, public policy, international affairs, and countries of the world.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Articles from more than 160 American and international regional newspapers. Uses include: Review updated TV and radio news transcripts and syndicated content.
- New York Times (Gale) This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: National and international news combined with strong regional coverage from 1985 to today (via Gale). Uses include: Find older issues of the New York Times for articles on various topics. For articles from 1923-1984 use ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Provides information on social issues from diverging points of view. Uses include: Utilize featured issues to explore multiple topics for research starters.
- Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Extensive primary source documents relating to American history, law and diplomacy. Uses Include: Search the Avalon Project for digital documents related to politics.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Topics include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Uses include: Review full-text articles on expressive writing in human services.