Skip to main content

Primary Sources

The Archives: Personal and Family Papers and Organizational Records

The best place to find primary source materials is in an archive. It is an archives goal to collect, preserve, organize, describe, and make available the materials that have been gathered for the purpose of documenting history. Archivegrid helps researchers locate materials relevant to their topic. ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Archivegrid ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Archives can be found in special collections libraries, historical societies, public libraries, or museums. 

The Brendlinger Library has its own Archives & Special Collections Department where you can find the College Archive, The Siegmund Lubin Betzwood Collection, The Montgomery County Choral Society Collection, as well as a rare book collection.

Digital Archives

Many archives are making a concerted effort to make their collections available online through digital exhibits, digital projects, blogs, or Flickr to name a few. The Brendlinger Library has two collections available online:

Look for additional exhibits at the Library of Congress' American Memory Project, the National Archives online exhibits, the Digital Public Library of America, and the Library of Congress Digital Collections.

Regional Archives & Special Collections