Library: CJS 105: Criminal Law: Find Journal Articles

Databases for Criminal Justice topics

The following databases are a starting point for your Criminal Justice assignments.

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy This link opens in a new window
What's included: Extensive primary source documents relating to American history, law and diplomacy. Uses Include: Search the Avalon Project for digital documents related to politics.
The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. It does not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
What's included: Reports on current issues include issue overview, maps and graphs, pro-con arguments, chronology, interest group listings, and more. Uses include: Review full-text reports on hot topics for research papers.
Database covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Data USA This link opens in a new window
What's included: American statistics and data visualization. Great for finding data on places, careers, education, and industries. Uses include: Exporting data, graphs, charts, and maps.
Data.gov This link opens in a new window
What's included: The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Uses include: Using data, tools, resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
What's included: Journal articles stretching back more than 75 years in humanities, history, culture and the sciences. Uses include: Full-text books, scholarly articles, and conference proceedings focused on art-related topics.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
What's included: Current news and journal articles on all branches of the military and government. Uses include: Review topics such as engineering, public affairs, public policy, international affairs, and countries of the world.
New York Times (Gale) This link opens in a new window
What's included: National and international news combined with strong regional coverage from 1985 to today (via Gale). Uses include: Find older issues of the New York Times for articles on various topics. For articles from 1923-1984 use ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
What's included: Articles from more than 160 American and international regional newspapers. Uses include: Review updated TV and radio news transcripts and syndicated content.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
What's included: Provides information on social issues from diverging points of view. Uses include: Utilize featured issues to explore multiple topics for research starters.
Philadelphia Inquirer (Newspaper Source) This link opens in a new window
What's included: Inquirer news, feature and sports articles since 1997. Uses include: Review newer articles on the history of the Philadelphia area.
Uniform Crime Reporting Statistics (UCR) This link opens in a new window
What's included: Reported crime statistics by locality (city, county), state, and nation from the U.S. Department of Justice. Uses include: Resource guides for crime statistics, claim forms, and toolkits for roundtables.

Law Reviews in Nexis-uni

Nexis-uni is a multifacited database providing access to full text newspaper articles, federal and state court transcripts, and law reviews. Law reviews are scholarly journals focusing on legal issues, generally published by an organization of law students or a bar association. To access the law reviews select the criminal justice option and the bottom of the entry page. Below is a FAQ for using the database.

FAQ for searching Nexis-uni