HIS 203: History of the U.S. to 1877
Databases for History
Salem Press offers brief entries on significant people and events throughout history, with cross-references and citations. For example, this entry on the U.S. Civil War.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Uses include: Searching index and abstracts records for various journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies. Uses included: Searching the full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Our largest online reference collection. Uses include: Resources for study such as atlases, biographies, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Journal articles in humanities, history, culture and the sciences and artwork from some of the most famous museums in the world. Uses include: Full-text books, scholarly articles, conference proceedings, images focused on historical and present-day art topics.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: New York Times content from 1851 to 2013. Uses include: Review complete full text articles, ads, photos, maps, graphics, obituaries, editorials and full page images.