MUS 110: Music Appreciation

From reviews to new relases to staff picks, Allmusic has you covered; search by genre, mood or theme.

This website provides links to substantial open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists. With a burgeoning number of digital resources available, remembering titles of sites and pathways to them can be difficult. Digital Resources in Musicology (DRM) is organized topically and provides a rapid search tool for specialties within heterogeneous collections. Neither the links nor their descriptions are exhaustive.

The Global Music Archive is a multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas. It is a public facility that promotes education in African and American traditional and popular music through its own activities and by supporting the activities of others. The archive is housed within the Anne Potter Wilson Music Library in Vanderbilt University’s Blair School of Music. It includes public rooms for the study of materials, and an audio and video listening and viewing facilities.

Resource created by Dr. Carla Piper focusing on music appreciation

Index of Musician Biographies.

Music Online: Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.

Features the latest international news, CD and concert reviews, articles, and many resources (in the form of a wiki) for music fans, industry professionals and researchers. Our definition of World Music includes traditional and contemporary folk and roots music from the entire globe, as well as cross-cultural fusions and hybrids.

The American Folklife Center was created in 1976 by the U.S. Congress to "preserve and present American folklife" through programs of research, documentation, archival preservation, reference service, live performance, exhibitions, publications, and training. Designated by the U.S. Congress as the national center for folklife documentation and research, the American Folklife Center continues to collect and document living traditional culture, while preserving for the future its unparalleled collections in the state-of-the-art preservation facilities of the Library of Congress.

The Archive of World Music at Loeb Music Library collects archival field recordings of musics worldwide, as well as commercial audiovisual recordings and streaming resources of ethnomusicological interest.

William H. (Bill) Scheide ’36, was an extraordinary and modest gentleman, and a truly dedicated and wise scholar who was renowned across and beyond campus for his broad support of the arts, humanities, and social justice. A musician and musicologist, he made major contributions to our music department, supported the University Art Museum and humanities programming, and helped hundreds of students attend Princeton as Scheide Scholars. The origins of his Library date from 1865, when Bill’s grandfather, William T. Scheide purchased an 1861 copy of Faraday’s lectures. This marked the start of an astounding collection of rare books and manuscripts, built by three Scheide generations: William T Scheide, John H. Scheide, and Bill himself.

The Curtis Archives comprises largely unpublished materials whose value derives from its collection by, ownership of, or relation to, a Curtis-affiliated individual. Non-Curtis collections of published and unpublished materials, as well as published materials by anyone (Curtis-related or not), can be found in Special Collections. Official Curtis recordings are a part of the library collection. Exceptions may be made on a case-by-case basis.

Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels

The Fred D. Valva collection comprises 143 boxes containing the working theater orchestra library assembled by Fred D. Valva (1878-1933) of Worcester, Massachusetts. At his death, Valva was described as the "premier orchestra leader in Worcester on the Poli circuit," having spent his thirty-year-long professional life as a conductor for the Plaza, Palace, and Elm Street theaters. The Valva Collection includes orchestral parts and the conductor's scores for several thousand popular songs and special musical effects used in vaudeville and movie houses from the turn of the century to the end of the silent picture [film] era in the late 'twenties. This collection was a gift from the Worcester Public Library.

A guide to the extensive jazz holdings in the Music Division at the Library of Congress, which includes scores, manuscript material, sheet music, books, serials, and copyright deposit lead sheets.

In 1995 this collection was purchased with financial support from the Ira and Leonore S. Gershwin Fund. The collection consists of jazz photographs taken by writer-photographer William P. Gottlieb, from 1938 to 1948, the "Golden Age of Jazz" when swing reached its peak and modern jazz developed. While on assignment for the Washington Post, Down Beat magazine, and Record Changer, Gottlieb photographed and interviewed jazz pioneers primarily in Washington, D.C., and New York City. A skilled craftsman, the self-taught photographer captured the personalities of jazz musicians in a sensitive, storytelling manner. The collection is an important contribution to the documentation of American culture during a time when jazz music thrived. Gottlieb's photographs are perhaps the most widely reproduced images of jazz musicians, such as Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, Billie Holiday, Dizzy Gillespie, Earl Hines, Thelonious Monk, Stan Kenton, Ray McKinley, Benny Goodman, Coleman Hawkins, Ella Fitzgerald, and Benny Carter.

The Marr Sound Archives holds over 400,000 audio and audiovisual recordings, with a focus on the American experience as reflected in recorded sound. The Sound Archives serves the students, faculty, and staff of UMKC, as well as local community members and scholarly researchers around the globe.

The Max Hunter Folk Song Collection is an archive of almost 1600 Ozark Mountain folk songs, recorded between 1956 and 1976 held at Missouri State University.

A diverse collection spanning 1,000 years of rare primary and secondary sources and unique Princeton-based music materials produced in all formats form this dynamic and expanding section of the Digital Princeton University Library. Included here are images of manuscripts from the 11th through the 19th centuries; imprints of music scores and books from the late 1400s through the early 1920s; and recordings of Princeton performance ensembles, student and faculty recitals from the Music Department, and other campus venues, the a cappella groups, and staged works from opera to the Princeton Triangle Club. The original analog and, more recently, born-digital originals stem from the Mendel Music Library and the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections.

A collection of rare music manuscripts and early imprints of music from the 1100s through the early twentieth century. The original items are held in various collections housed in the Princeton University Library's Department of Rare Books and Special Collections and the Locked Collection of the Arthur Mendel Music Library.

Online audio archive of Princeton University's performance ensembles. Browse the ensemble picture to view the available performance archive. This archive is constantly growing, and the performance you are looking for might not be public online. Contact the Mendel Music Library to check for a hard-copy concert recording if the versions you seek are not listed under the specific ensembles. These performances can be listened to on-site at the Mendel Music Library. Please let us know if you have a copy of a version that you feel should be included in our audio archive!

A growing digital collection featuring Bizet, Delibes, Donizetti, Gounod, Mascagni, Massenet, Meyerbeer, Mozart, Rimsky-Korsakov, Rossini, Rubinstein, Saint-Saëns, Serov, Tchaikovsky, Verdi, and Weber, plus premieres of works by Davidov, Flotow, Mussorgsky, and Nápravnik.

Collected below are resources for the study and practice of ethnomusicology.

Founded in 2010 by Dr Ahmad Sarmast, the Afghanistan National Institute of Music (ANIM) is the first and only school of music in the country, where talented Afghan children regardless of their gender, social circumstances and ethnic background are trained in a co-educational environment in Afghan traditional and Western classical music, while obtaining high quality academic general education.

The AHRC Research Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music (CHARM) was established on 1 April 2004, supported by a 5-year grant of just under £1m from the Arts and Humanities Research Council.

80,000 musicians comprise the American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada (AFM). We perform in orchestras, backup bands, festivals, clubs and theaters—both on Broadway and on tour. AFM members also make music for films, TV, commercials and sound recordings. As the largest union of musicians in the world, we have the power to make the music industry work for musicians.

The mission of the American Guild of Organists is to enrich lives through organ and choral music.

In an effort to educate parish musicians and keep them abreast of each new liturgical reform, Dr. LaManna established ACMP as the educational arm of his Archdiocesan Office of Music. Membership in the Association would provide local musicians with updates on liturgical changes as well as the theology behind them. This was accomplished primarily through mailings and workshops. Secondary goals were to
provide educational opportunities for musicians to improve their skills as well as a social network for parish musicians.

The Historical Society of Montgomery County began in 1881, just three years before the County's centennial celebration. Inspired by the upcoming anniversary, a group of notable county residents created the Historical Society to protect local history. It valued the educational opportunities involved in their pursuits, explicitly mentioning the exhibition and research purposes available through their efforts. They believed that the Historical Society could cooperate with other local historical organizations and become a place where individuals could learn at a glance what other collections could offer. In addition, the society sought to collect public and private collections related to the County's people, events, and places; public records from the county records to be destroyed; newspaper files printed throughout the County; and census, church, and cemetery records.

Iceland Music Information Centre (IMIC) is the national centre for Icelandic contemporary and classical music. IMIC is a non-profit society, founded in 1968 with the mission to make Icelandic contemporary compositions easily accessible and to advocate on behalf of Icelandic composers along with supporting the Icelandic contemporary and classical music scene.

Advocating for women in music around the globe and promoting their music through concerts, competitions, conferences, and grants.

The International Association of Music Centres (IAMIC) is an international network of organisations that collectively and collaboratively provides information and promotes the music of their countries or regions.

The IBMA is the non-profit music association that connects, educates, and empowers bluegrass professionals and enthusiasts, honoring tradition and encouraging innovation in the bluegrass community worldwide.

An international music organisation must have members or musical activities in a minimum of ten countries with more than three voting members outside the region where it is based. The organisation must demonstrate that it subscribes to the IMC's position on cultural rights, develop policy positions to advance the welfare of its area or musical activity and advocate these to decision-makers including governments. It must be governed according to democratic principles and offer services to its members and/or to the community at large.

The International Society for Music Education (ISME) believes that lived experiences of music, in all their many aspects, are a vital part of the life of all people.

The International Trumpet Guild is a world-wide organization of trumpeters, formed to promote communication among trumpet players around the world and to improve theartistic level of performance, teaching, and literature associated with the trumpet. The organization's approximately 5,000 members represent 64 countries and include professional and amateur performers, teachers, students, manufacturers, publishers, and others interested in belonging to an organization dedicated to the trumpet profession.

The Israel Music Institute (IMI) is the first publicly-owned music publishing house in Israel; it also serves as an information centre, dedicated to the promotion of Israeli concert music. It is a non-profit organization supported by the Israel Ministry of Science, Culture and Sport.

The Jewish Music Research Centre (JMRC) is an academic institution dedicated to the documentation, research, and publication of scholarly materials about music conceived, performed, and consumed within Jewish social frameworks in the past and present.

The Musical Fund Society of Philadelphia, established in 1820, invests in the cultural life and musical legacy of the Philadelphia region by supporting local music institutions, advancing the careers of exceptional young artists, and building community around classical music.

The National Endowment for the Arts is an independent federal agency that funds, promotes, and strengthens the creative capacity of our communities by providing all Americans with diverse opportunities for arts participation.

As Philadelphia’s music authority, The Philadelphia Music Alliance promotes the vast contributions of Philadelphians to all music genres, and encourages emerging artists and students toward achieving musical excellence. In addition, The Alliance creates, supports and sponsors programs and events that enrich and strengthen Philadelphia’s musical community. Our best-known creation is the Walk of Fame, a must-see tourist attraction on Philadelphia’s dazzling Avenue of the Arts.

The Philadelphia Music Teachers Association (PhMTA) was organized as a local music teachers association in 1891. Theodore Presser, teacher and music publisher, founded the organization to promote the professional interests of teachers and improve the quality of teaching.

The Society for American Music is dedicated to the study, teaching, creation, and dissemination of all musics in the Americas. As a scholarly, collegial, and inclusive organization, we serve a wide and diverse array of academics, librarians, composers, performers, and members of the general public.

Headquartered in the Whitpain 1895 Public School, the Wissahickon Valley Historical Society serves to educate the public about the heritage and history of the people, institutions, and events that have influenced and shaped the communities of the Wissahickon School District, which encompasses Whitpain Township, Lower Gwynedd Township and the Borough of Ambler.