Databases for Nutrition
The nutrition topic page within opposing viewpoints offers relevant information in multiple types of media, including viewpoints, charts, interactive maps, videos, and journal articles.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Uses include: Searching index and abstracts records for various journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Reports on current issues include issue overview, maps and graphs, pro-con arguments, chronology, interest group listings, and more. Uses include: Review full-text reports on hot topics for research papers.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Our largest online reference collection. Uses include: Resources for study such as atlases, biographies, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Articles for patients on nutrition, exercise, medical self care, childcare, drug and alcohol abuse, and more. Uses include: Searching the medical dictionary and drug guide for research topics.
- Salem Press: Health This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Health, Alternative and Complimentary Medicine, Addictions & Substance Abuse, Infectious Diseases & Conditions, and Nutrition. Uses include: Citation guides.
Tutorial: How to find articles
What is Peer Review?
Many academic articles are reviewed by experts in the field prior to publication
Published in academic journals: Professors and researchers share their latest work with professionals in their disciplines via academic journals. Journal editors choose research to publish that has the greatest impact in those fields.
The process: Prior to publication, experts in the author's field will review the article. These "peer reviewers" rigorously read and analyze the research and the writing for errors and missing information. After the review, the author is given the opportunity to correct any problems or to withdraw the article from consideration for publication.
Why? This peer-review process is valued by professionals in the field – from psychiatrists and doctors to professors and therapists -- because they rely on academic journal articles to stay current with the latest developments in their fields.
Magazines are not academic: In contrast, popular publications, such as magazines, are written in a more conversational style for the general public. Articles often include eye-catching titles and content designed to sell the publications and attract advertisers. These articles are often written by reporters who talk to the experts, then interpret the technical language of the field in a way everyone can understand them.
For example: For example, the popular magazine Psychology Today published an article titled "Revenge of the Introverts" with tips on what not to say to introverts. The peer-reviewed Journal of Personality published "Explaining the Extraversion/Positive Effect Relation: Sociability Cannot Account for Extraverts' Greater Happiness," including 30 pages of research data and charts.
Note: Not every article in every academic journal is peer-reviewed. However, when searching for articles via the library Web site, you may choose to select peer-reviewed articles as part of your search.
Here are other things to look for in peer-reviewed articles:
- Research data is often shown in charts and tables.
- Information is cited, usually with many references or footnotes.
- The authors' credentials are included.
- The language may be appropriately technical to the field of study.
- The printed pages are generally plain and often have little or no advertising.