Basic Nutrition Terms and Definitions
Nutrient: A food or other substance that provides energy or building material for the survival and growth of a living organism.
Nutrient. (2011). In W. Dorland, Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier Health Sciences. Retrieved from http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/ehsdorland/nutrient/0
Carbohydrate: The term applied to an organic substance in which the hydrogen and oxygen are usually in the proportion to form water. Carbohydrates are all, chemically considered, derivatives of simple forms of sugar and are classified as monosaccharides (e.g. glucose), disaccharides (e.g. cane sugar) and polysaccharides (e.g. starch). Many of the cheaper and most important foods are included in this group, which comprises sugars, starches, celluloses and gums.
Carbohydrate. (2010). In H. Marcovitch (Ed.), Black's medical dictionary, 42nd edition. London, UK: A&C Black. Retrieved from http://ezproxy.mc3.edu/login?qurl=http%3A%2F%2Fsearch.credoreference.com%2Fcontent%2Fentry%2Fblackmed%2Fcarbohydrate%2F0
Diet: The mixture of food and drink consumed by an individual... [A healthy diet] provides all essential nutrients in sufficient quantities to prevent deficiencies but which also avoids health problems associated with nutrient excesses.
Diet. (2010). In H. Marcovitch (Ed.), Black's medical dictionary, 42nd edition. London, United Kingdom: A&C Black. Retrieved from http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/blackmed/diet/0
Digestion: The three processes by which the body incorporates food are digestion, ABSORPTION, and ASSIMILATION. In digestion, food is softened and converted into a form soluble in the watery fluids of the body; or, in the case of fat, into minute globules. The substances formed are then absorbed from the intestines and carried throughout the body by the blood. In assimilation, these substances, deposited from the blood, are used by the various tissues for their growth and repair.
Digestion. (2010). In H. Marcovitch (Ed.), Black's medical dictionary, 42nd edition. London, United Kingdom: A&C Black. Retrieved from http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/blackmed/digestion/0
Lipids: Any of a heterogeneous group of fats and fatlike substances characterized by being water-insoluble and being extractable by nonpolar (or fat) solvents such as alcohol, ether, chloroform, benzene, etc. [Lipids] serve as a source of fuel, are an important constituent of cell structure, and serve other biological functions.
Lipid. (2011). In W. Dorland, Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier Health Sciences. Retrieved from http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/ehsdorland/lipid/0
Mineral: Any of a group of inorganic elements that are essential to humans and animals for normal body function. In nutrition, minerals are those elements for which the body's requirement is at least 100 mg per day, and trace minerals are those elements that are needed in smaller amounts.
Mineral, dietary. (2016). In Columbia University & P. Lagasse, The Columbia Encyclopedia. New York, NY: Columbia University Press. Retrieved from http://ezproxy.mc3.edu/login?qurl=http%3A%2F%2Fsearch.credoreference.com%2Fcontent%2Fentry%2Fcolumency%2Fmineral_dietary%2F0
Nutrient: A food or other substance that provides energy or building material for the survival and growth of a living organism.
Nutrient. (2011). In W. Dorland, Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier Health Sciences. Retrieved from http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/ehsdorland/nutrient/0
Proteins: The major source of building material for muscles, blood, skin, hair, nails, and the internal organs. It is necessary for the formation of many hormones, enzymes, and antibodies and may act as a source of energy.
Protein. (2012). In Mosby, Mosby's dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health professions. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier Health Sciences. Retrieved from http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/ehsmosbymed/protein/0
Of the more than 80 amino acids which have been found in living organisms, about 20 serve as the building blocks for the proteins.
Water: Sixty per cent of a man's body weight is water, and 50 per cent of a woman's; those proportions need to be maintained within quite narrow limits to ensure proper functioning of body tissues. Body fluids contain a variety of mineral salts and these, too, must remain within narrow concentration bands.
Dehydration. (2010). In H. Marcovitch (Ed.), Black's medical dictionary, 42nd edition. London, UK: A&C Black. Retrieved from http://ezproxy.mc3.edu/login?qurl=http%3A%2F%2Fsearch.credoreference.com%2Fcontent%2Fentry%2Fblackmed%2Fdehydration%2F0
Vitamins: A group of substances which exist in minute quantities in natural foods, and which are necessary to normal nutrition, especially in connection with growth and development.
Vitamin. (2010). In H. Marcovitch (Ed.), Black's medical dictionary, 42nd edition. London, United Kingdom: A&C Black. Retrieved from http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/blackmed/vitamin/0
Encyclopedia sets
Nutrition by Call Number: RA784 .N94 2015ISBN: 9781440828492Publication Date: 2015-06-10"Organized alphabetically, the two-volume work covers the most important topics in human nutrition including nutrients, nutrition-related health concerns, aging and nutrition, eating disorders, and the value of dietary supplements. The digestive system and its organs are discussed, with particular attention to health issues such as irritable bowel syndrome and the role of helpful bacteria. The physiology of hunger and the psychology of appetite and eating behaviors are explained. The work also delves into data on foods that have been featured in recent research, such as garlic, ginger, and turmeric, and it offers consumers a clearer understanding of nutrition-related practices such as organic farming, genetically modified foods, and the use of food additives."
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by Call Number: REF QP141 .E526 2005 (Central Campus Reference Collection)ISBN: 9780121501112Publication Date: 2005-01-01Being dissatisfied with one's appearance is normal, but Body Dysmorphic Disorder (BDD) is something different. Someone with BDD is preoccupied with their appearance, is excessively self-conscious and experiences marked distress as a result. As a group, individuals with BDD have high rates of suicide, psychiatric hospitalisation and unemployment. They are often housebound or socially isolated and have great difficulties with relationships. Body Dysmorphic Disorder: A Treatment Manual is the first to provide both an overview of the current knowledge of BDD and a framework for appropriate treatment of the condition using cognitive behaviour therapy and medication. Owing to a lack of research, BDD is often misdiagnosed and treated inappropriately. Patients frequently mask their main condition and present with symptoms of depression, social phobia, or obsessive-compulsive disorder, resulting in treatment with misdirected therapies and inappropriate anti-psychotic medication. Ideal for practitioners in clinical psychology, psychiatry and medicine, Body Dysmorphic Disorder: A Treatment Manual furthers our understanding of the condition and provides practical advice on its assessment and treatment.
The Vitamins by Call Number: REF QP771 .C645 2008 (Central Library Reference Collection)ISBN: 9780121834937Publication Date: 2007-09-13The third edition of this bestselling text will again provide the latest coverage of the biochemistry and physiology of vitamins and vitamin-like substances. Extensively revised and expanded on the basis of recent research findings with enlarged coverage of health effects of vitamin-like factors, it is ideally suited for students and an important reference for anyone interested in nutrition, food science, animal science or endocrinology. It contains a cohesive and well-organized presentation of each of the vitamins, as well as the history of their discoveries and current information about their roles in nutrition and health. NEW TO THIS EDITION: *Includes approximately 30% new material *Substantial updates have been made to chapters on vitamins A, C, E, K, folate, and the quasi-vitamins *Provides checklists of systems affected by vitamin deficiencies and food sources of vitamins *Key concepts, learning objectives, vocabulary,case studies, study questions and additional reading lists are included making this ideally suited for students * Thoroughly updated with important recent research results, including citations to key reports, many added tables and several new figures. *Addition of Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (HANES III) data *Updated Dietary Reference Values
