HCP 118: Professional Essentials for a Healthcare Career
Use a source, give credit
Highlight, take notes, and otherwise mark up articles from quality sources. Whenever you quote or paraphrase any content, be sure to give credit to the authors.
References page example - the above source in APA style:
Axelerad, A. D., Muja, L. F., Stroe, A. Z., Zlotea, L. A., Sirbu, C. A., Docu Axelerad, S., Jianu, D. C., Frecus, C. E., & Mihai, C. M. (2022). Impact of SARS-CoV-2 Infection in Patients with Neurological Pathology. Diagnostics (2075-4418), 12(2), 473. https://doi.org/10.3390/diagnostics12020473
Finding Case Studies
If you are looking for the specific type of article known as a case study, one easy way of finding the most useful articles is to include "case study" as one of your search terms. Note: this example limited the search to articles in which "case study" is the subject, for greater accuracy.
Databases for Medical Law and Ethics
The "medical ethics" search within SAGE reference draws from eReference entries like this one.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Uses include: Searching index and abstracts records for various journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- eBooks (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Encyclopedia collection on many topics ranging from nanotechnology to American history. Uses include: Review full-text handbooks and encyclopedias related to culture and history.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Articles from nursing and allied health journals, professional association publications, and health care books. Uses include: Full text scholarly articles on nursing.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Articles for patients on nutrition, exercise, medical self care, childcare, drug and alcohol abuse, and more. Uses include: Searching the medical dictionary and drug guide for research topics.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Our largest online reference collection. Uses include: Resources for study such as atlases, biographies, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Search and read full-length e-books for reference, social sciences, medicine, art, information technology, and more. Uses include: Browse the cooking categories for more information about the history of cooking, recipes, and more.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: More than 20,000 streaming educational films on every academic topic. Uses include: Watch a documentary on human nature or dance history while on the go.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Featuring encyclopedias in business, history, medicine, sports, African-American studies, religion, math, philosophy and college guides. Uses include: Review e-books on business plans, management, and cultural studies.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Journal articles on nursing, allied health and medicine. Also includes information regarding prescription drugs, herbal remedies, and nutritional supplements. Uses include: Review abstract, indexes, and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide for research starters.
- PLOS: Public Library of Science This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Peer-reviewed, open access journal articles on all fields of science and medicine. Uses include: Review articles for your research on exercise wellness.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Topics include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Uses include: Review full-text articles on expressive writing in human services.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Citations of articles covering biomedical and life sciences. Links to Full-Text when available. Uses include: The Topic-Specific Queries tool will assist in finding records, subjects, and topics for research.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Uses include: Review full text articles via PubReader on any mobile device.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Encyclopedias, handbooks and e-books on business, environment, nursing, psychology and cultures. Uses include: Search handbooks for research topics on health, education, and business.
- Salem Press: Health This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Health, Alternative and Complimentary Medicine, Addictions & Substance Abuse, Infectious Diseases & Conditions, and Nutrition. Uses include: Citation guides.
- Science Magazine This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Peer-reviewed research, news, and commentary about the sciences. Uses included: Review journals such as Science, ScienceAdvances, ScienceSignaling, and more.