Search for Articles on Current Issues
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Uses include: Searching index and abstracts records for various journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Reports on current issues include issue overview, maps and graphs, pro-con arguments, chronology, interest group listings, and more. Uses include: Review full-text reports on hot topics for research papers.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Provides information on social issues from diverging points of view. Uses include: Utilize featured issues to explore multiple topics for research starters.
- New York Times (Gale) This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: National and international news combined with strong regional coverage from 1985 to today (via Gale). Uses include: Find older issues of the New York Times for articles on various topics. For articles from 1923-1984 use ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Articles from more than 160 American and international regional newspapers. Uses include: Review updated TV and radio news transcripts and syndicated content.
- Genetically Modified Foods"When advanced bioengineering techniques are used to alter the genetic code of plants, animals, or bacteria, the results are referred to as genetically modified (GM) organisms."
- The Future of MeatCan the industry navigate health and environmental concerns?
- Fast-Food ShakeoutCan the industry keep up with changing tastes?
- Food Policy DebatesShould government regulate unhealthy foods?
- Obesity CrisisShould government do more to control rising rates?
Additional Resources
Here are additional databases that could prove useful for your search.
- Philadelphia Inquirer (Newspaper Source) This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Inquirer news, feature and sports articles since 1997. Uses include: Review newer articles on the history of the Philadelphia area.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Articles on the human impact to the environment including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainability, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Uses include: Review full-text sources for information on sustainability across region, state, or country.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Uses include: Reviewing indexes, abstracts, and links to full text articles.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Topics include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Uses include: Review full-text articles on expressive writing in human services.