Founded in 2010, The Comics Grid: Journal of Comics Scholarship is an open-access, researcher-led, peer-reviewed academic journal. The journal aims to publish original and specialised contributions to the field of comics scholarship from multidisciplinary and media-specific perspectives. The journal aims to promote innovative comics scholarship where the writing is energetic and theoretically and interpretively bold, and that presents specialised knowledge in accessible and engaging forms. It also considers submissions that explore the ways in which comics can be used for scholarly purposes.
The Comics Journal covers the widest range of cartooning - newspaper strips, alternative and mainstream graphic novels, international works, editorial cartoons, webcomics, manga and much more.
Image [&] Narrative is a peer-reviewed e-journal on visual narratology and word and image studies in the broadest sense of the term. It does not focus on a narrowly defined corpus or theoretical framework, but questions the mutual shaping of literary and visual cultures
Keywords & Terms
Important keywords and terms to use in your research:
What's included: Collection of digital images from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Uses include: Studying more than 250 images from the Archives of Montgomery County Community College.
DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. Includes innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, format, subject, and partner.
What's included: Digitized primary source material from research libraries. Uses include: Full-text literature, cookbooks, history, and art history resources.
What's included: Journal articles stretching back more than 75 years in humanities, history, culture and the sciences. Uses include: Full-text books, scholarly articles, and conference proceedings focused on art-related topics.
What's included: Stories, poems, and novel criticisms and author analysis. Uses include: Review more than 150,000 poems and short stories by region, language, and style.
ComicsResearch.org primarily covers book-length works about comic books and comic strips, from "fannish" histories to academic monographs, providing detailed information and guidance on further research. Each entry will include the book's Table of Contents as well as (if applicable) a list of comics works reprinted in it (and their sources, sometimes undocumented), other general notes on content and organization, ISBN numbers, and reviews--either included on these pages, listed from print sources, or linked to from on-line sources. Books in any language, about comics from any country, are included.
Provides free access to hundreds of pre-1959 public-domain comic books uploaded by users who often offer historical research and commentary alongside high-quality scans.
The Grand Comics Database (GCD) is a nonprofit, internet-based organization of international volunteers dedicated to building an open database covering all printed comics throughout the world. Give our search a try, take a look at the menu to the left to see how you can help us improve the site, or use my.comics.org to track and manage your comic collection.
The Mary Sue is the geek girl’s guide to the universe. We love and live geek culture, comic book movies, genre television, space exploration, emerging technologies, the coolest video games, and the weirdest finds on the internet. We promote, watchdog, extoll, and celebrate diversity, inclusion, and women’s representation in all of these areas (and more!) and work to make geekdom safe and open for everyone.
We are a community of fans who love superheroes, sci-fi, fantasy and video games but are not afraid to look at nerd/geek fandom with a culturally critical eye.
No Flying No Tights began as a class project, for my (Robin B) Young Adult Literature class at the University of Illinois Graduate School of Library and Information Science and the inspirational professor Christine Jenkins way back in 2002. It soon grew to be one of the first in-depth resources for librarians about comics and graphic novels. In 2002, No Flying No Tights was cited by School Library Journal as one of the top sites on graphic novels. In 2006 the Association for Library Service to Children recognized the site.
Welcome to the world's first hypertext encyclopedia of toons — which will soon, I hope, come to be regarded as the Internet's most comprehensive source of information about the U.S. toon scene.
The Unofficial Guide to the DC Universe or DCU Guide for short was established in 1996. It began as the Unofficial DC Index Series focusing on comic book indexes, but soon branched out to include character profiles, chronologies and more.
The Columbia University Rare Book & Manuscript Library (RBML) collects archives of comics creators, editors, and publishers, with an emphasis on New York-area professionals, as well as materials that document the history of comics publishing, in keeping with RBML’s larger focus on the history of publishing. RBML also collects materials related to comics fan culture, especially convention material, fanzines, and fan mail. Materials of interest include manuscripts, drafts, original art, roughs and tracings, correspondence, contracts, records, fanzines, artifacts, and other formats in support of research and teaching in comics studies as an interdisciplinary field.
This collection of comic books published between 1933-2010 consists mostly of titles from mainstream publishing companies such as DC and Marvel (Series I and II respectively). However, there are a number of comics from independent companies such as Dark Horse, Archie Enterprises and Caliber Press (Series III). Much of the collection focuses on the superhero / anti-hero out to fight injustice and evil in the world - e.g. Detective Comics (Batman), Hellblazer (Constantine), Fantastic Four and Amazing Heroes. However, quite a few romance, adventure and even X-rated comics are to be found in this collection. Earlier comics within this collection are not in pristine condition and show signs of previous handling from owners.
The Fales Library & Special Collections, comprising 350,000 volumes of book and print items, over 11,000 linear feet of archive and manuscript materials, and about 90,000 audiovisual elements, houses the Fales Collection of rare books and manuscripts in English and American literature, the Downtown Collection, the Food and Cookery Collection, the Riot Grrrl Collection, and the general Special Collections of the NYU Libraries.
This guide provides an introduction to the collection of Black comics and graphic novels, and all related materials at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
The Billy DeFrank LGBT Silicon Valley Community Center Records document the grassroots efforts of its founders to build a community center that supports the vast and diverse needs of the South Bay community of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people. The central mission of the Billy DeFrank LGBT Silicon Valley Community Center is to work toward promoting a "positive social identification" by promoting civil rights to advance liberty and justice through collaboration and unity. Includes some comic collections, namely
Tales of the Closet Comic Book 1987.
The Chicano Latino Comic Books Collection consists of comic books, zines, and posters that were written, illustrated, and in some instances, published by Chicano and Latino artists. With the exception of Michael Aushenker, prominent author of the series ‘The Nine Lives of El Gato’, the Chicano Latino Comic Books Collection is primarily comprised of comic books by Latino artists. Comic book collaborations between well-known Latino artists such as Rafael Navarro and non-Hispanic authors such as Mike Wellman are included in the collection. Other prominent artists represented in the Chicano Latino Comic Books Collection include Octavio Rodriguez, Crystal Gonzalez, the Hernandez brothers, Mario, Gilbert, and Javier, J. Gonzo, and Carlos Saldaña.
McCabe’s comic collection contains over 10,000 comics, donated by alumnus Richard A. Lamb, class of 1988. Richard started reading comics as a child and was an active collector for over 30 years. He donated a subset of his collection to the library in order to share his love of comics and graphic novels with current students, and to encourage students to read for the sake of pleasure.
The "general" comic book collection contains 14,677 comic books from 1948 to 2014. The comic book holdings include a variety of prominent comic book publishers (DC Comics, Marvel Comics, Dark Horse Comics, etc.) and lesser-known and independent publishers (First Comics, Valiant Comics, Rip Off Press, etc.).
The Comic Arts Collection began in the 1970s with the donation of a modest comic book collection and the papers of richmond newspaper editorial cartoonist, Fred O. Seibel (1886 - 1968). Today, it comprises more than 175,000 items, including more than 125,000 comic books, of which 60,000 are available for research. in addition to comic books, the collection includes reference titles, journals, graphic novels, fanzines, original works of comic art, and the personal papers of notable figures in the comic arts. VCU Libraries is the repository for the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards and provides access to thousands of publications that received or were nominated for the award.