ARA 101: Elementary Arabic I

Al-Jazeera Learning Arabic site is a free open educational source that presents the Arabic language in an easy interactive way that helps learners practice and improve their Arabic language.

Lanes Lexicon is an Arabic English Lexicon Derived from the best and the most copious eastern sources by Edward William Lane.

ArabicLexicon.Hawramani.com (formerly Lisaan.net) is a free resource created and maintained by Ikram Hawramani. Please send your comments, suggestions and corrections to contact@hawramani.com

An Arabic-English Dictionary for exploring Arabic words and roots, based on the Hans Wehr Dictionary.

Using one of our 22 bilingual dictionaries, translate your word from English to Arabic.

Test your Arabic skills with this quick online test.

These dictionaries are more than just a list of words, they are guides to the Arabic language. The uniquely structured database allows users to search by Arabic word, English word, and Arabic root. There are also thousands of examples to show users how to properly use words and listing common phrases and proverbs.

Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library (AMEEL) AMEEL holds approximately 350,000 pages of full text, indexed and searchable in the language of publication including Arabic and Western scripts. The full text in AMEEL was originally extracted using Optical Character Recognition software (OCR) rather than re-keying all works, resulting in accuracy rates of higher than 90%.

Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. ACO currently provides digital access to 17,699 volumes across 10,473 subjects drawn from rich Arabic collections of distinguished research libraries. Established with support from NYU Abu Dhabi, and currently supported by major grants from Arcadia, a charitable fund of Lisbet Rausing and Peter Baldwin, and Carnegie Corporation of New York, this mass digitization project aims to feature up to 23,000 volumes from the library collections of NYU and partner institutions.

The Library of Arabic Literature makes available Arabic editions and English translations of significant works of Arabic literature, with an emphasis on the seventh to nineteenth centuries. The Library of Arabic Literature thus includes texts from the pre-Islamic era to the cusp of the modern period, and encompasses a wide range of genres, including poetry, poetics, fiction, religion, philosophy, law, science, travel writing, history, and historiography.

The Specialised Information Service (FID) Middle East-, North Africa- and Islamic Studies provides highly specialised research materials from the countries of the MENA region for German researchers. It is funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) and has been maintained by the University and State Library Saxony-Anhalt since 2016.

Builds a network of members interpreting and translating from or into Arabic.

American Association of Teachers of Arabic (AATA) aims to facilitate communication and cooperation between teachers of Arabic and to promote study, criticism, research and instruction in the field of Arabic language pedagogy, Arabic linguistics and Arabic literature. The information available here is a sampling of the materials available to AATA members.

The INEE Arabic Language Communities (ALC) is a network space that facilitates advocacy, resource development, and knowledge sharing among INEE members who speak Arabic. The ALC creates, translates, and disseminates tools and information in Arabic, while also supporting training and capacity-building opportunities for Arabic speaking INEE members. The ALC is supported by a Language Community Facilitator.

The International Council for Arabic Language was created in 2008. The members of this organization come from universities, unions, and organizations concerned about the teaching of the Arabic language. It organizes the International Arabic Language Conference, and International Arabic Language Exhibit.