Library: ENG 101/102: Current issues research: Find Articles

Search for Articles on Current Issues

CQ Researcher
What's included: Reports on current issues include issue overview, maps and graphs, pro-con arguments, chronology, interest group listings, and more. Uses include: Review full-text reports on hot topics for research papers.

Database covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
What's included: Provides information on social issues from diverging points of view. Uses include: Utilize featured issues to explore multiple topics for research starters.
New York Times (Gale)
What's included: National and international news combined with strong regional coverage from 1985 to today (via Gale).
Newspaper Source
What's included: Articles from more than 160 American and international regional newspapers. Uses include: Review updated TV and radio news transcripts and syndicated content.

Discovery is our new all-in-one search box!

Tips for searching

Use the word "and" to connect two search terms.
- You will see results commons to both terms.
- For example— Edward Hopper and Nighthawks.
Click on the title of the article to use the Cite and Email tools.

Use the left column tools to limit your search results...

Select the Available Print + Online box to limit your results to materials you can access immediately, .
Select Library Catalog to limit your search to books, videos or other items in our MCCC libraries.
Use Publication Date to limit your search to the last five or so years for current information on your country.
Use the "Source Type" filter to limit your search specifically to books, magazines, academic journals, and more.
- Select "Non-Print Resources" for artworks
Use the Databases filter to choose articles specifically from JSTOR, Academic Search Premier, or ARTStor

Here are additional databases that could prove useful for your search.

ERIC
What's included: Providing access to education journals, conference papers, research and technical reports. Uses include: Searching for full-text documents related to education.
GreenFILE
What's included: Articles on the human impact to the environment including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainability, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Uses include: Review full-text sources for information on sustainability across region, state, or country.
Philadelphia Inquirer (Newspaper Source)
What's included: Inquirer news, feature and sports articles since 1997. Uses include: Review newer articles on the history of the Philadelphia area.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
What's included: Topics include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Uses include: Review full-text articles on expressive writing in human services.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
What's included: Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Uses include: Reviewing indexes, abstracts, and links to full text articles.