Here's some keywords to use in your searches. Remember to use terms that will narrow your search!
African
African-Americans/Black
Age grade and Age set
Anthropology
Anthropometry
Archaeology
Applied anthropology
Cargo cult
Caste
Caucasian
Cephalic index
Ceremony
Chief
Civilization
Clan (also Phratry, Sib)
Consanguinity
Culture
Cultural Anthropology
Economic anthropology
Ethnocentric
Ethnocentrism
Ethnography
Ethnographic films
Evolutionary
Functionalism
Gatherer-Hunter
Genealogy
Globalisation
Ideology
Indigenous
Inuit
Kinship
Marxism
Matriarchy
Medical anthropology
Name
Narrative
Oral History
Palaeontology
Participant-Observation
Pastoralism
Patriarchy
Pennsylvania Dutch
Peonage
Qualitative Research
Quantitative Research
Race
Reflexivity
Ritual
Shamanism
Social anthropology
Social Change
Structural-Functionalism
Structuralism
Symbol/Symbolism
Tribe
Tribal Laws
Tribal Records
Visual anthropology
Welsh
Yanomami
Reviewing Resources
Scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles are written by scholars of a particular subject, whom are considered experts in their field.
Tip: Scholarly articles usually have an abstract (description of what you'll find in the article), charts/graphs, and a full biography or citation list.
Substantive news articles are reliable sources of information on events of the day/time or issues of concern for the general public or world. Articles from these sources are usually vetted (or double-checked) for credibility.
Tip: Substantive new articles included a date and time posted with a byline (name of the writer of the article) at the top of the article. If a correction is made to the article, it will include a revision date and time. The correction is noted fully at the bottom of the article.
Popular articles are articles relating to entertainment for the general public, usually these articles are produced by corporations for profit.
Tip: Popular articles include advertisements (ads), usually, more ads than articles. These ads and the articles themselves are colorful Revisions are noted with date and time, but corrections aren't often noted. The byline is included at the bottom of the articles.
Tabloids "articles" relate to entertainment news but are used to generate a reaction from the general public. These "articles" are often false.
Tip: No byline is included. No sources. Often linked to an opinion on a current social issue, no other sources mentioned.
Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources
What the difference between a primary, secondary, and tertiary source?
Primary sources are created as close to the original event or phenomenon as it is possible to be. For example, a photograph or video of an event is a primary source. Data from an experiment is a primary source.
Secondary sources are one step removed from that. Secondary sources are based on or about the primary sources. For example, articles and books in which authors interpret data from another research team's experiment or archival footage of an event are usually considered secondary sources.
Tertiary sources are one further step removed from that. Tertiary sources summarize or synthesize the research in secondary sources. For example, textbooks and reference books are tertiary sources (Text in this section is from Suny Empire College's guide: Research Skills Tutorial).
Why is this important?
For your research assignments, you are asked to find primary, secondary, and tertiary sources. You'll need to be able to recognize the difference between all three. Remember primary sources are about the event. Secondary sources analyze the event and interpret another author's work. Tertiary sources summarize events from other authors after the event has occurred.
What's included: Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Uses include: Searching index and abstracts records for various journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
What's included: Collection of digital images from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Uses include: Studying more than 250 images from the Archives of Montgomery County Community College.
DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. Includes innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, format, subject, and partner.
What's included: Articles on the human impact to the environment including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainability, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Uses include: Review full-text sources for information on sustainability across region, state, or country.
What's included: Journal articles stretching back more than 75 years in humanities, history, culture and the sciences. Uses include: Full-text books, scholarly articles, and conference proceedings focused on art-related topics.
What's included: Articles from more than 160 American and international regional newspapers. Uses include: Review updated TV and radio news transcripts and syndicated content.
What's included: National and international news combined with strong regional coverage from 1985 to today (via Gale). Uses include: Find older issues of the New York Times for articles on various topics. For articles from 1923-1984 use ProQuest Historical Newspapers
What's included: Provides information on social issues from diverging points of view. Uses include: Utilize featured issues to explore multiple topics for research starters.
What's included: New York Times content from 1851 to 2013. Uses include: Review complete full text articles, ads, photos, maps, graphics, obituaries, editorials and full page images.
What's included: Topics include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Uses include: Review full-text articles on expressive writing in human services.
Articles devoted to the human sciences, research reports, reviews of significant books, interviews with leading anthropologists and anthropological news items (12 month delay for issues).
ntegrative Psychological & Behavioral Science (IPBS) features articles that cover theoretical integration of ideas, epistemology of social and biological sciences, and original empirical research articles of general scientific value. IPBS covers the history of the social sciences as relevant for development of theoretical perspectives and empirical elaborations within the social and biological sciences. It integrates knowledge from many fields in a new synthesis of universal social science – overcoming the post-modernist fragmentation of ideas (12 month delay for issues).
Journal for the Anthropology of North America (JANA) – formerly North American Dialogue – is the peer-reviewed publication of the Society for the Anthropology of North America. We publish research that fosters dialogue about North America and its far-reaching effects. JANA is a forum for North Americanist scholars, activists, and practitioners to disclose findings, raise issues, describe fieldwork, and offer political and theoretical analyses in a timely fashion.
Invites contributions directed towards a critical & theoretical understanding of cultural, political & social process (12 month delay on issues).
Anthropology Search Tips
Tips for Searching...
Keep your search terms simple. For example: Ethiopia, kinship, economic anthropology, etc. Using sentences or long phrases can result in poor results.
Better search terms: You'll see every article is tagged with subjects describing the article. Try matching your search terms to these subject terms to get better results.
Narrow your results: You will often receive hundreds (if not thousands) of articles in your search, focus your results to make it MUCH easier to find what you need! Here's two ways to do this...
Use the left column to "Refine Results":
Selecting "Full Test from Montco" limits the list to articles you can access now.
Publication date can limit articles to a specific time period.
Source type allows you to limit the search to just magazines, academic journals, books, etc.
Subject shows common subjects within your search.
Click "show more" for additional options within each category.
"AND": Use the word "AND" to connect two ideas in your search such as "China AND filial piety" It will limit your search to only articles that have both terms in common.
You can use both of these methods together!
Email articles: When you click an article title, you'll see "email" in the right column. This method will include the option to include an APA or MLA citation!