CJS 100: Intro to Criminal Justice
Databases for Criminal Justice topics
The following databases are recommended as sources for research on topics related to Criminal Justice.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Reports on current issues include issue overview, maps and graphs, pro-con arguments, chronology, interest group listings, and more. Uses include: Review full-text reports on hot topics for research papers.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Articles from more than 160 American and international regional newspapers. Uses include: Review updated TV and radio news transcripts and syndicated content.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Provides information on social issues from diverging points of view. Uses include: Utilize featured issues to explore multiple topics for research starters.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Topics include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Uses include: Review full-text articles on expressive writing in human services.
- Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new windowWhat's Included: Federal and state laws and regulations, and court rulings. Also state law comparisons, legal encyclopedia and annotated U.S. Constitution. Uses include: Review the lawyer directory and a legal encyclopedia featuring information on business law, employment law, family law, and more.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Current news and journal articles on all branches of the military and government. Uses include: Review topics such as engineering, public affairs, public policy, international affairs, and countries of the world.
- Uniform Crime Reporting Statistics (UCR) This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Reported crime statistics by locality (city, county), state, and nation from the U.S. Department of Justice. Uses include: Resource guides for crime statistics, claim forms, and toolkits for roundtables.