HIS 101: History of Western Civilization I - Ancient Medieval and Early Modern
Databases for History
Salem Press offers brief entries on significant people and events throughout history, with cross-references and citations.
- Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new windowBiographies from more than 30 categories from actors, musicians, and authors to explorers, inventors, and leaders relevant to U.S. & world history. (Click "Biographies Online" in the left sidebar for more help using this database.)
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Historic newspapers from across the United States dating from 1789 to 1924. Uses include: A directory of American newspapers published since 1690.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Our largest online reference collection. Uses include: Resources for study such as atlases, biographies, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
- JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Journal articles in humanities, history, culture and the sciences and artwork from some of the most famous museums in the world. Uses include: Full-text books, scholarly articles, conference proceedings, images focused on historical and present-day art topics. Artstor's content includes millions of images and multimedia across disciplines, which is free to use for educational and research purposes. (JSTOR and ARTSTOR merged in 2024).
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: New York Times content from 1851 to 2013. Uses include: Review complete full text articles, ads, photos, maps, graphics, obituaries, editorials and full page images.