DHG 100: Theory and Practice of Dental Hygiene I
Peer Reviewed Journals for Dental Hygiene Students
Peer reviewed journals are a dental hygiene student's best source of original research in the field. To read the most current issue of a professional dental hygiene journal is to keep up to date on the latest scholarly conversation in the field, and be more aware of the issues and trends that are most relevant to your peers. To search a database that collects the most current issues as well as previous issues, using key words to focus on specific topics, is to understand how the conversation has evolved into its latest form, and what future evidence-based research may be pursued on dental hygiene topics of great importance.
When quoting directly or paraphrasing from peer reviewed sources from nursing journals, be sure to give credit to the authors using the proper method of citation. (See APA Style Guide)
Below: Peer Review explanation video.
Databases for Dental Hygiene
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Uses include: Searching index and abstracts records for various journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Articles for patients on nutrition, exercise, medical self care, childcare, drug and alcohol abuse, and more. Uses include: Searching the medical dictionary and drug guide for research topics.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Our largest online reference collection. Uses include: Resources for study such as atlases, biographies, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Search and read full-length e-books for reference, social sciences, medicine, art, information technology, and more. Uses include: Browse the cooking categories for more information about the history of cooking, recipes, and more.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: More than 20,000 streaming educational films on every academic topic. Uses include: Watch a documentary on human nature or dance history while on the go.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Featuring encyclopedias in business, history, medicine, sports, African-American studies, religion, math, philosophy and college guides. Uses include: Review e-books on business plans, management, and cultural studies.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Journal articles on nursing, allied health and medicine. Also includes information regarding prescription drugs, herbal remedies, and nutritional supplements. Uses include: Review abstract, indexes, and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide for research starters.
- PLOS: Public Library of Science This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Peer-reviewed, open access journal articles on all fields of science and medicine. Uses include: Review articles for your research on exercise wellness.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Citations of articles covering biomedical and life sciences. Links to Full-Text when available. Uses include: The Topic-Specific Queries tool will assist in finding records, subjects, and topics for research.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). Uses include: Review full text articles via PubReader on any mobile device.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Encyclopedias, handbooks and e-books on business, environment, nursing, psychology and cultures. Uses include: Search handbooks for research topics on health, education, and business.
Searching for Journal Articles in PubMed
Type your search into the search box. When searching PubMed, use few words and be as specific as possible. If your first search is unsuccessful, try to think of another term to use or use a broader term.
By default, PubMed sorts the most recent articles to the top. The user may opt to resort them by relevance.
It's also possible to filter results, and concentrate on articles held in print at the libraries.
