Articles, reviews, original research and news of note on issues of teaching and practice in business communication for members of the Association for Business Communication.
Articles of original research that develops or advances business, managerial or organizational communication theory or knowledge and all conceptual models and descriptive studies that make an important contribution to business communication theory.
What's included: Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Uses include: Searching index and abstracts records for various journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
What's included: Full text of more than 2,100 business and trade journals, some going back to 1965. Uses include: Searching for company information and market reports.
What's included: Reports on current issues include issue overview, maps and graphs, pro-con arguments, chronology, interest group listings, and more. Uses include: Review full-text reports on hot topics for research papers.
Database covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
What's included: Providing access to education journals, conference papers, research and technical reports. Uses include: Searching for full-text documents related to education.
What's included: Articles on the human impact to the environment including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainability, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Uses include: Review full-text sources for information on sustainability across region, state, or country.
What's included: Provides information on social issues from diverging points of view. Uses include: Utilize featured issues to explore multiple topics for research starters.
These are the three best opportunities to become a more effective professional. We're all called upon at meetings and in documents every day to clearly communicate ideas, report on past achievements and persuade others into effective action. Here are 50 easy-to-implement suggestions for how to make all your communications more powerful. Learn how to put new communication strategies in place right away and then come back for new skills over time.
BCD. Business Communication Digitally is a book for today's and tomorrow's business practitioner and student that is structured into eleven chapters, each dealing with topics salient for aspects of business practice in the digital age. The constant need to innovate, to communicate ahead of time, to perform a service or supply a product on the promise of the future transaction, informs much about business practice. After all, what is business acumen based on but the difference between realities and contingencies, the tangible and the intangible? Most business communication in the digital world of today and tomorrow will either take place face to face or technologically mediated (by phone, email, video conference, text, etc.). More mediated business communication is taking place because of the ubiquitous availability of new distal technologies that are compatible with the office PC – social media, Skype, Yammer, etc. It is now possible to video-call a colleague almost anywhere in the world via internet connection. With the ubiquitous use of social media technology as one form of mass communication, social presence and media effects become relevant to mass communication that are encountered in the business world. The chapters of BCD are developed on a progression of themes. opportunity; creativity; equality and sustainability; negotiation; patience; listening; recognition; trust; intangibles; social presence; and digital media. These themes combine to engender a sense of situatedness in a world of doing.
Business communication examines various aspects of communication in business including an extensive historical overview and introduction of business communication and overcoming barriers to communication. It includes definitions of internal communication, external communication along with oral communication that talks about the power of speech. Provides the reader with insights into the development of its history, so as to understand the business communication and the role writing skills play in an effective business communication along with various applications of business communication in cross-cultural communications.
Business writing is all about effective communication and persuasion. Technically-minded people can struggle and many businesses get it wrong, losing their readers in avalanches of acronyms and jungles of technical jargon. It doesn't have to be that way. In this book you'll discover how to give your communication skills an upgrade, exploring the tips and tricks that will enable you to write effectively and persuasively for any audience. You'll discover how to optimize your words for maximum impact, which terrible traps to avoid and how to make your expertise and enthusiasm even more infectious.
Stakeholders today want to know about your company's social and environmental performance. Effectively communicating these topics has become critical to economic success. This book offers an extensive toolbox of the most effective instruments that can help you, and each chapter provides specific examples of how to communicate social and cause-related marketing, sustainability reporting, issues and crisis communication, vision, mission statements and codes, and web-based stakeholder communication. You will find hands-on concepts and actual illustrations. Chapter cases provide rich practical coverage and translate concepts into solutions for dayto- day business realities.
Business communication expert and bestselling author Dianna Booher shares practical wisdom on how to write effective emails that get results and how to organize documents to gain control and increase your productivity.Today, most business writing is email writing. We handle even our most important customer transactions, internal operations, and supplier partnerships solely by email. Yet many of us still struggle to write emails that get results. And we often are so overwhelmed by the sheer volume of emails that we feel as though we're in email jail! How we handle email has a large impact on the trajectory of our career.
These are the three best opportunities to become a more effective professional. We're all called upon at meetings and in documents every day to clearly communicate ideas, report on past achievements and persuade others into effective action. Here are 50 easy-to-implement suggestions for how to make all your communications more powerful. Learn how to put new communication strategies in place right away and then come back for new skills over time.
Style guides come in many shapes and sizes, usually focused toward scientific or academic use only. However, business writing is a space occupied by many individuals that has not been given the attention it deserves. The Style Guide for Business Writing, Second Edition, is designed specifically to assist business writers in both the public and private sector, including those publishing with English as a second language; authors of academic papers; business book authors; financial journalists; and writers of reports, proposals or even just e-mail and memoranda. This book provides a comprehensive guide to clear and precise writing that will help develop basic communication skills for the beginner, and refresh the basics for the experienced business writer. Major topics are arranged alphabetically and the cross references and index enable quick and easy access to information. Michael C. Thomsett is a market expert, author, speaker, and coach. His many books include Stock Market Math, Candlestick Charting, The Mathematics of Options, and A Technical Approach to Trend Analysis.
Technical writing is about communicating key information to the people who need it. It might be a manual for an application, a guide to using heavy machinery, a diagnostic aide for medical practitioners or a guidance note about new legislation. It needs to be clear and it needs to be precise. This book shows you how to achieve this and more. Whatever the content or context, in this book you'll discover the essential tools and resources that you need to create technical writing that works for everyone.
Employers consider communication one of the most critical skills for workers today. Writing for the Workplace: Business Communication for Professionals is an easy- to-follow guide that provides strategies for effective professional communication. Written to address the needs of both students entering the workforce and business professionals looking to improve their written communication, the book offers guides to compose typical workplace documents, from effective e-mails and convincing reports to winning presentations and engaging resumes. This concise book offers busy readers concrete strategies to improve their workplace writing.