ART 109: History of Fashion Design

The Asian Fashion Archive is a digital resource project highlighting Asian fashion, culture, and history.

The museum’s Costume and Textiles collection is one of the oldest and most prominent in the United States, with diverse and significant objects ranging from 2,000-year-old archeological textiles to cutting-edge contemporary couture.

The Delineator was an American women's magazine published by the Butterick publishing company.

The Dress, Fashion, and Textiles collection comprises garments and accessories from the past three centuries, made or worn primarily in Montreal. The collection covers all aspects of women’s, men’s, and children’s fashionable dresses of the 19th and 20th centuries, including indoor and outdoor garments, underclothing, sports attire, everyday clothing, and dress for special occasions such as weddings and christenings.

The Fashion Archives and Museum of Shippensburg University expand knowledge and appreciation of clothing for its artistic, cultural, and historical importance and essential societal role. As an integral component of the university, the FA&M endeavors to stimulate dynamic learning through research and instruction enriched by interactive educational programs, exhibits, and publications in collaboration with faculty, students, the region, and the greater global community while preserving and enhancing the collection.

Godey's Lady's Book was an American women's magazine published in the 19th century.

Located on the Pacific Rim, LACMA is the largest art museum in the western United States, with a collection of nearly 149,000 objects that illuminate 6,000 years of artistic expression across the globe. Committed to showcasing a multitude of art histories, LACMA exhibits and interprets works of art from new and unexpected points of view informed by the region’s rich cultural heritage and diverse population. LACMA’s spirit of experimentation is reflected in its work with artists, technologists, and thought leaders and in its regional, national, and global partnerships to share collections and programs, create pioneering initiatives, and engage new audiences.

The number of Texas Fashion Collection items presented in the UNT Digital Library is growing daily, so please visit often to see the latest additions. Digitization efforts have been generously supported by Gloria and Bruzzy Westheimer and the UNT Diamond Eagles Society, a group whose gifts are pooled together to fund an annual high-impact campus project. The TFC was chosen to receive Diamond Eagles project funding in 2020.

Visit the museum with your web browser or download the application on your desktop for an optimized experience, and create your unique route through the galleries to discover and enjoy every aspect of Valentino's extraordinary world.

Discover the treasures of North America's inspiring, charming shoe museum. Located in Toronto, Canada, the Bata Shoe Museum regularly displays over a thousand shoes and related artifacts, chosen from a collection of nearly 15 000 objects, in architect Raymond Moriyama's iconic, award-winning building. The BSM celebrates footwear's style, development, and function across four impressive galleries, with displays ranging from Chinese bound-foot shoes and ancient Egyptian sandals to chestnut-crushing clogs and glamorous platforms. Over 4,500 years of history are reflected in our permanent exhibition, All About Shoes, while our three other galleries feature changing exhibitions – so there's always something new to see.

The National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC) is the only national Museum to document African American life, history, and culture. It was established by an Act of Congress in 2003, following decades of efforts to promote and highlight the contributions of African Americans. The Museum has collected more than 40,000 artifacts, and nearly 100,000 individuals have become members. The Museum opened on September 24, 2016, as the 19th Museum of the Smithsonian Institution.

The Museum’s textile holdings include military flags, political banners, quilts and coverlets, samplers, rugs, and other household textiles. Highlights include mid-twentieth-century fabrics designed by Chicago-based artists, such as Ellenhank and Angelo Testa.

Explore an exciting period in fashion history through this spectacular collection of drawings and sketches from the New York firm André Fashion Studios in the 1930s and early 1940s. Browse seasonal designs like winter wear for 1937-38, search for costume components like scarves, collars, blouses, peplums, and raglan sleeves, or enjoy the artistry of famous designers like Chanel, Balenciaga, Schiaparelli, Lelong, Patou, and many others. The result of a partnership between The New York Public Library and the Fashion Institute of Technology, this site aims to inspire today’s designers while documenting the significant role of New York’s fashion industry in 20th-century fashion. An additional goal is to encourage continued fashion-related digital collaboration among cultural heritage institutions in New York.

The Costume Institute's collection of more than thirty-three thousand objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present. The redesigned Costume Institute space reopened in May 2014, after a two-year renovation, as the Anna Wintour Costume Center with the exhibition Charles James: Beyond Fashion. The complex includes the Lizzie and Jonathan Tisch Gallery, the leading showcase space with a flexible design for frequent transformation with video, sound, and wireless technology. The Center also includes the Carl and Iris Barrel Apfel Gallery to orient visitors to The Costume Institute's exhibitions. Behind the scenes is a state-of-the-art costume conservation laboratory; a study/storage facility to house the combined holdings of The Costume Institute and Brooklyn Museum Costume Collection; and The Irene Lewisohn Costume Reference Library, one of the world's foremost fashion libraries.

The Fabric Workshop and Museum (FWM) is an internationally acclaimed contemporary art museum devoted to creating and presenting innovative works of art. Its Artist-in-Residence Program allows artists at all stages of their careers to collaborate with FWM as they experiment with new materials and new media, taking their work in new and often unexpected directions. Founded in 1977 by Marion “Kippy” Boulton Stroud (1939-2015), FWM presents ambitious exhibitions which convey a story of contemporary art that unites processes with finished works.

From contemporary murals, pop art, 3D designs, digital and more, our art exhibits are reason enough to visit us. Designed in partnership with the Philadelphia Redevelopment Authority’s Percent for Art Program and curated by Bridgette Mayer of Bridgette Mayer Art Advisors, the collection focuses on igniting conversation and imagination.

The Fashion Museum (formerly The Museum of Costume) is one of the world’s significant collections of historic and fashionable dresses. Designated as a collection of outstanding national significance, the Fashion Museum was recently listed by CNN as one of the world’s Top 10 fashion museums.

The FIDM Museum and Library, Inc. collects, preserves, and interprets fashion objects and support materials with outstanding design merit. It fosters student learning, public engagement, and recognition of the creative arts and entertainment industries by providing access to the collections through exhibitions, publications, and other research opportunities.

Best known for its innovative and award-winning exhibitions, the museum has a permanent collection of more than 50,000 garments and accessories dating from the eighteenth century to the present.

The Drexel Institute of Art, Science, and Industry was founded by financier and philanthropist Anthony J. Drexel in 1891. Drexel believed that studying art and design was essential to a well-rounded education and earmarked one million dollars, equal to more than 26 million dollars today, specifically for purchasing art and artifacts.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art created the fashion history timeline from pieces in their collection.

KCI’s collection currently ranges from the 17th century to the present day, with holdings of 12,000 clothing items and 16,000 documents. The institute has received donations from some of today’s top designers and fashion houses, such as Chanel, Christian Dior, and Louis Vuitton, and was presented with a gift of approximately 1,000 sets of clothing from Comme des Garçons.

The Dress, Fashion, and Textiles collection comprises over 27,000 garments and accessories from the past three centuries, made or worn primarily in Montreal. The collection covers all aspects of women’s, men’s, and children’s fashionable dresses of the 19th and 20th centuries, including indoor and outdoor garments, underclothing, sports attire, everyday clothing, and dress for special occasions such as weddings and christenings.

The collection focuses on clothing and costume design, covering key moments in fashion history and showcasing iconic French designers. The museum’s collection includes dresses and accessories that run the gamut from essential streetwear to haute couture. The 18th Century department is home to one of the world’s largest clothing collections from the Age of Enlightenment.

The New Zealand Fashion Museum is for anyone who loves fashion, heritage, innovation, and creativity. With no fixed abode other than this online address, it is a museum dedicated to curating New Zealand’s rich fashion past, making it relevant for the present and future.

Spanning five centuries, our Fashion collection is the largest and most comprehensive collection of dresses in the world. Essential items in the collection include rare 17th-century gowns, 18th-century ‘mantua’ dresses, 1930s eveningwear, 1960s daywear, and post-war couture.