BIO 115: Environmental Biology
Find Articles
Databases for Biology
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Uses include: Searching index and abstracts records for various journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Our largest online reference collection. Uses include: Resources for study such as atlases, biographies, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Articles on the human impact to the environment including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainability, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Uses include: Review full-text sources for information on sustainability across region, state, or country.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Journal articles in humanities, history, culture and the sciences and artwork from some of the most famous museums in the world. Uses include: Full-text books, scholarly articles, conference proceedings, images focused on historical and present-day art topics.
- PLOS: Public Library of Science This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Peer-reviewed, open access journal articles on all fields of science and medicine. Uses include: Review articles for your research on exercise wellness.
- Science Magazine This link opens in a new windowWhat's included: Peer-reviewed research, news, and commentary about the sciences. Uses included: Review journals such as Science, ScienceAdvances, ScienceSignaling, and more.
The environmental biology search within opposing viewpoints offers relevant information in multiple types of media, including viewpoints, charts, interactive maps, videos, and journal articles.
Quoting Quality Sources
Highlight, take notes, and otherwise mark up articles from quality sources, peer reviewed, if possible. Quote or paraphrase what you find, giving credit to the authors.