Reference sources provide vital background information on a topic and should not be overlooked when beginning a research project. The items in this box are available in both electronic and print format.
Geography by Danny Dorling; Carl Lee
Publication Date: 2016-09-13
Ideas in Profile: Small Introductions to Big Topics Geography gives shape to our innate curiosity; cartography is older than writing. Channelling our twin urges to explore and understand, geographers uncover the hidden connections of human existence, from infant mortality in inner cities to the decision-makers who fly overhead in executive jets, from natural disasters to over-use of fossil fuels. In this incisive introduction to the subject, Danny Dorling and Carl Lee reveal geography as a science which tackles all of the biggest issues that face us today, from globalisation to equality, from sustainability to population growth, from climate change to changing technology - and the complex interactions between them all. Illustrated by a series of award-winning maps created by Benjamin D. Hennig, this is a book for anyone who wants to know more about why our world is the way it is today, and where it might be heading next.
Countries, Peoples and Cultures by Salem Press Editors
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
This brand-new series from Salem Press provides valuable insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices and beliefs of nearly every nation around the globe. This volume takes a look at the South American continent, Mexico
A Companion to Contemporary Britain, 1939-2000 by Paul Addison; Harriet Jones (Editor)
Publication Date: 2005-06-06
A Companion to Contemporary Britain covers the key themes and debates of 20th-century history from the outbreak of the Second World War to the end of the century. Assesses the impact of the Second World War Looks at Britain's role in the wider world, including the legacy of Empire, Britain's 'special relationship' with the United States, and integration with continental Europe Explores cultural issues, such as class consciousness, immigration and race relations, changing gender roles, and the impact of the mass media Covers domestic politics and the economy Introduces the varied perspectives dominating historical writing on this period Identifies the key issues which are likely to fuel future debate
Excellent reports on current issues include issue overview, maps and graphs, pro-con arguments, chronology, interest group listings, and more.
Database covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.