ASL 101: American Sign Language

You might be wondering things about the Deaf Community and Deaf people, but haven’t learned enough signs to ask- or perhaps you don’t want to offend anyone, no worries, we will answer those questions for you! If you have more questions, email us!

ASLU is an online American Sign Language curriculum resource center. ASLU provides many free self-study materials, lessons, and information as well as formal tuition-based courses.

Daily news coverage in ASL.

The Deaf Resource Library (http://www.deaflibrary.org) is a virtual library -- an online collection of reference material and links intended to educate and inform people about Deaf cultures in Japan and the United States; as well as deaf and hard of hearing related topics. While I have a bias towards cultural Deaf models, I have tried to include more material about hard of hearing issues as well.

Founded in December 2015 and based in New Jersey, NJ Deaf News, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to provide an online place for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Community and its friends to share important news, advertise upcoming events, discuss topics important to our community, and communicate with each other through one central app and website.
Our hope is to share news stories, stories about our community members, stories about our world, and up to date information about community events. Our NJ Deaf News staff works hard each day to deliver quality news to you.

The Deaf Services Center includes a (vertical) file collection with magazine articles, newspaper clippings, book and video reviews, brochures, flyers and ephemera focusing on Deaf culture, history, and other related topics. The file dates from the late 1960s to the present and varies in depth and scope. Please ask staff for assistance.

Information about statistics on Deaf and DeafBlind people.

Created by Gallaudet Library, this guide contains well-known deaf and hard-of-hearing people, but a few hearing people who have been important to or influential on the deaf are included also. Unless specfically identified otherwise, a subject may be assumed to be deaf.

LAMP: Library of Accessible Media for Pennsylvanians is a library for individuals who have difficulty reading due to any visual, physical, cognitive or reading disability for a temporary or permanent reason. Certification is necessary to be able to use the LAMP. The program is free as part of the Library of Congress' National Library of Blind and Visually Disabled. The library is open 5 days a week 9:00am to 5:00 pm at 1500 Spring Garden Street, Suite 230, Philadelphia.

Clickable US map for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing.

National Library Service (NLS) is a free braille and talking book library service for people with temporary or permanent low vision, blindness, or a physical, perceptual, or reading disability that prevents them from using regular print materials. Through a national network of cooperating libraries, NLS circulates books and magazines in braille or audio formats, that are instantly downloadable to a personal device or delivered by mail free of charge.

The Becker Archives serve as the historical repository for Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis and the affiliated hospitals at the medical center. The archival collections document the history of the School of Medicine, including its faculty and students, as well as the institutional history of Barnes-Jewish Hospital and St. Louis Children’s Hospital.

The Deaf AIDS Center Collection documents the educational and social activities of the Center through photographs, flyers, and ephemera.

The Gallaudet University Archives hosts the world’s largest collection of materials related to deaf people, deaf culture, deaf history, signed languages, deaf education, and deaf-related organizations. The Archives also collects, preserves, and provides access to the histories of various deaf communities around the world. These histories include signed languages indigenous to specific countries or regions, deaf publications and organizations, publications from deaf organizations from various countries, educational institutions for the deaf, religious institutions for the deaf, and biographical materials relating to deaf individuals of note.

The Deaf Catholic Archives, located at the College of the Holy Cross, is a collection of materials received from pastoral workers and religious assigned to Deaf ministry, as well as a variety of institutions across the globe including parishes, and regional Deaf Catholic organizations. The collection provides insight into the history of Deaf culture as well as an understanding of how Deaf Catholics practice their faith (culturally) in new ways, when traditional methods are insufficient. A wide variety of materials are included such as books, newsletters, documents, photographs and ephemera.

This British Deaf Association (BDA) project brings together films, photos, and memories from around the world. This website aims to illustrate the range, richness, and depth of the Deaf community and Deaf history. The website is not only accessible but interactive, allowing visitors to comment on materials, provide additional information and upload their own event photos and films.

This collection contains items related to Pennsylvania School for the Deaf's main campus located in the Mount Airy section of Northwest Philadelphia from 1892-1984

The Deaf Studies, Culture, and History Archives (DSA) was established to ensure that the cultural heritage and lives of the National Technical Institute for the Deaf (NTID) and connected Deaf, DeafBlind, DeafDisabled, and hard of hearing (“Deaf”) communities are preserved. The DSA collects materials that will increase knowledge of the history and culture of NTID and connected Deaf community members, and strengthen identity formation and pride. This significant repository of primary resources in all mediums documents the founding and growth of NTID and highlights the many remarkable contributions of Deaf, hard-of-hearing and hearing individuals affiliated with NTID. Since its creation, the DSA has grown to include collections that document Rochester's vibrant Deaf community. Collection strengths include Deaf education, Deaf studies, Deaf theater, Deaf art, and technologies for the Deaf.

Under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), people who are deaf or hard of hearing are entitled to the same services law enforcement provides to anyone else. They may not be excluded or segregated from services, be denied services, or otherwise be treated differently than other people. Law enforcement agencies must make efforts to ensure that their personnel communicate effectively with people whose disability affects hearing. This applies to both sworn and civilian personnel.

If you are DEAF or HARD OF HEARING, you have a right to clear,
“effective” communication and “reasonable accommodations” when
applying for a job and while working at most jobs.

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (Section 504) forbids public and private entities that receive financial assistance from any federal department or agency (“covered entities”) from excluding qualified individuals with disabilities or denying them an equal opportunity to receive program benefits and services.

You may be entitled to receive Social Security Disability Insurance Benefits (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI). To learn if you or someone you know may be eligible for these programs, visit our Disability Benefits or SSI Benefits pages.

Ava offers Professional accessibility software with captions for deaf and HoH Individuals.

Calls you can see. By being FCC certified and thanks to a federally funded program,CaptionMate provides a free service for individuals with hearing loss that allows users the ability to read both sides of a phone conversation instantaneously. CaptionMate works on smart phones, tablets, and all other phones, even your landline.

Hearing Helper uses Apple's Siri technology to translate speech to text for those wanting to communicate with the HOH, Deaf, or ESL (English as a Second Language) friends and family. Users push and hold the mic to record, and have the ability to edit incorrect words and enlarge the text.

InnoCaption is a free captioning service for the deaf and hard of hearing funded by the FCC (Federal Communications Commission). It provides real-time captioning on your mobile device. The app was developed in conjunction with live stenographers to provide fast, easy, accurate captioning. Users must register and self-certify you have a hearing loss to use this service.

Live Transcribe & Sound Notification is made by Google, who partnered with hearing loss experts at Gallaudet University on the development. It provides free, real-time transcriptions of conversations and also sends notifications based on surrounding sounds at home, such as a fire alarm or doorbell ringing. It is available in 80 languages and comes with several other features.

Learn American Sign Language with Marlee Signs© from Marlee Matlin – Academy Award© winning Deaf Actress.

Hearing difficulties should not prevent you from enjoying phone calls. Simply read the live transcriptions and you'll never miss out again.

VoiceNation offers a top-rated live answering service nationwide in a subscription-based service.