ASL 101: American Sign Language

Essential sign language knowledge for use in conversation, this 6-page laminated guide covers the most important aspects of communicating in ASL. Includes photo examples of often-used words and phrases to illustrate concepts of action and/or movement that make communication clear while adding emotional emphasis that always makes for good conversation.

This unique reference can help users locate a sign whose meaning they have forgotten, or help them find the meaning of a new sign they have just seen for the first time. It organizes more than 1,900 ASL signs by 40 basic handshapes and includes detailed descriptions on how to form these signs to represent the different English words that they might mean. Users can begin to track down a sign by determining whether it is formed with one hand or two. Further distinctions of handshape, palm orientation, location, movement, and nonmanual signals help them pinpoint their search while also refining their grasp of ASL syntax and grammar. A complete English word index provides the option of referring to an alphabetical listing of English terms to locate an equivalent sign or choice of signs. This dictionary features: More than 1,900 sign illustrations, organized by handshape Complete index of English vocabulary for all signs An introduction to Deaf culture and ASL structure The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary is a one-of-a-kind resource for learning ASL and enhancing communication skills in both ASL and English.

Essential sign language knowledge for use in conversation, this 6-page PDF guide covers the most important aspects of communicating in ASL. Includes photo examples of often-used words and phrases to illustrate concepts of action and/or movement that make communication clear while adding emotional emphasis that always makes for good conversation.

In sign languages of the deaf some signs can meaningfully point toward things or can be meaningfully placed in the space ahead of the signer. This obligatory part of fluent grammatical signing has no parallel in vocally produced languages. This book focuses on American Sign Language to examine the grammatical and conceptual purposes served by these directional signs. It guides the reader through ASL grammar, the different categories of directional signs, the types of spatial representations signs are directed toward, how such spatial conceptions can be represented in mental space theory, and the conceptual purposes served by these signs. The book demonstrates a remarkable integration of grammar and gesture in the service of constructing meaning. These results also suggest that our concept of'language'has been much too narrow and that a more comprehensive look at vocally produced languages will reveal the same integration of gestural, gradient, and symbolic elements.

The story of how American Sign Language (ASL) came to be is almost mythic. In the early 19th century, a hearing American reverend, Thomas Hopkins Gallaudet, met a Deaf French educator, Laurent Clerc, who agreed to come to the United States and help establish the first school in America to use sign language to teach deaf children. The trail of ASL's development meanders at this point. No documentation of early ASL was published until the late 19th century, almost seven decades after the school's founding. While there are many missing pieces in the history of America's sign language, plenty of data exist regarding ASL etymology.

The Joy of Signing is one of the most comprehensive guides available for mastering the current basic signs used to communicate with deaf people in either the word order of the English language or in the American Sign Language pattern. This updated third edition provides the basic vocabulary needed for persons entering interpreter training programs. Over 1,500 signs are clearly illustrated and are grouped by chapter into their natural categories. Families as well as professionals will appreciate this manual's conceptually based vocabulary. It includes sections on the history of sign language and fingerspelling, the art of signing, language patterns of signs, and an illustrated guide for fingerspelling.

American Sign Language (ASL) is a vibrant, easy-to-learn language that is used by approximately half a million people each day. Current with the latest additions to ASL and filled with thousands of photographs featuring deaf actors, Learn American Sign Language is the most comprehensive guide of its kind. With it, you will be able to:Learn more than 800 signs, including signs for school, the workplace, around the house, out and about, food and drink, nature, emotions, small talk, and more.Unlock the storytelling possibilities of ASL with classifiers, easy ways to modify signs that can turn “fishing” into “catching a big fish” and “walking” into “walking with a group.”Find out how to make sentences with signs, use the proper facial expressions with your signs, and other vital tips. The book's spiral binding allows it to lie flat, the perfect format for studying. The signs are organized by theme, so you can learn groups of signs related to a specific activity. An index at the back allows you to easily find specific terms. With this guide, you'll be well on your way to becoming an effective ASL communicator and storyteller.

This engrossing study investigates the infancy of American Sign Language (ASL). Authors Ted Supalla and Patricia Clark highlight the major events in ASL history, revealing much of what has not been clearly understood until now. According to tradition, ASL evolved from French Sign Language. The authors analyze the metalinguistic assumptions of these early accounts and also examine in depth a key set of films made by the National Association of the Deaf (NAD) between 1910 and 1920. Designed by the NAD to preserve classic ASL, the films feature 15 sign masters, the model signers of that time. In viewing these films, the authors discovered that the sign masters signed differently depending on their age. These variations provide evidence about the word formation process of early ASL, further supported by data collected from dictionaries of the 19th and early 20th centuries. By tracing the writings of selected individuals, this study reconstructs the historical context for early ASL grammar. It describes the language used in each century and how it changed, and focuses on the rediscovery of the literary legacy of the Deaf American voice. Sign Language Archaeology reveals the contrast between folk etymology and scientific etymology and allows readers to see ASL in terms of historical linguistics.

British Deaf News is still operated by the British Deaf Association and will continue to upload stories about issues relevant to the Deaf Community locally, nationally and internationally. You can comment on the stories, plus contribute your own articles.

Deaf Community Advocacy Network – DEAF C.A.N.! is a non-profit Organization established in 1981 to provide services to the thousands of Deaf and Hard of Hearing people living in our area. DEAF C.A.N.! offers direct client services to individuals and families, as well as community education and information for professional groups. DEAF C.A.N.! provides a full array of services to the Deaf & Hard of Hearing communities in southeastern Michigan. DEAF C.A.N.! is partially supported by generous donations from individuals, community organizations, corporations and foundations. ​

An online journal of deaf and disabled literature & art.

Families is our quarterly magazine for families with deaf children. It's packed with inspirational real-life stories of deaf children and young people, tips and advice from parents and professionals, adult role models, news, reviews, event listings and loads more.

The National Association of the Deaf (NAD) is the nation’s premier civil rights organization of, by and for deaf and hard of hearing individuals in the United States of America. Established in 1880, the NAD was shaped by deaf leaders who believed in the right of the American deaf community to use sign language, to congregate on issues important to them, and to have its interests represented at the national level.

Odyssey magazine is an award-winning publication published annually by the Clerc Center. Each issue is theme-based, focusing on topics of importance as they relate to research, philosophy, and application of practice of instruction in the deaf education classroom.

Dedicated to quality in education & related services for deaf & hard of hearing children & adults.

Covers the whole range of learning difficulties relating to children in mainstream and special schools. Particular emphasis on reviews of books, software and other resources (please note there is a 12 month delay in issues).

Provides a forum for scholarly papers relevant to the education of deaf infants, children & young people. Original research on linguistic, educational, social & cognitive development, & on sign language, deaf culture & traditions, & more.

Provides research & review articles concerned with all aspects of education, human development, special education & rehabilitation (please note there is a 15 month delay on issues),

Deals with research findings (pragmatic applications), program descriptions and articles on deafness, and the disciplines of rehabilitation, social services, mental health, and other related areas.

All aspects of clinical speech, language, & hearing services to children & adolescents, particularly in school settings.

We're committed to the success of all students and to everyone having equal access to programs, events and facilities. To aid us, we've established a Disability Services department to provide support and accommodations to students with disabilities and resources to faculty and staff. ****We're committed to the success of all students and to everyone having equal access to programs, events and facilities. To aid us, we've established a Disability Services department to provide support and accommodations to students with disabilities and resources to faculty and staff.*** Contact: Blue Bell – Email disabilities@mc3.edu or call 215-641-6575. Pottstown – Email westdisab@mc3.edu or call 610-718-1853.

Guideline online tutoring here at MCCC! Contact: tutoring@mc3.edu.

Need help with math or studying? Whether you're looking for assistance in organizing notes, writing a paper or taking a test, our tutors are available to support you. Contact: tutoring@mc3.edu.