Library: FRE 101: Elementary French I: Find Books

Tutorial & Disability Services

Disability Services
We're committed to the success of all students and to everyone having equal access to programs, events and facilities. To aid us, we've established a Disability Services department to provide support and accommodations to students with disabilities and resources to faculty and staff. ****We're committed to the success of all students and to everyone having equal access to programs, events and facilities. To aid us, we've established a Disability Services department to provide support and accommodations to students with disabilities and resources to faculty and staff.*** Contact: Blue Bell – Email disabilities@mc3.edu or call 215-641-6575. Pottstown – Email westdisab@mc3.edu or call 610-718-1853.
MCCC Tutorial Services
Need help with math or studying? Whether you're looking for assistance in organizing notes, writing a paper or taking a test, our tutors are available to support you. Contact: tutoring@mc3.edu.
Online Tutoring at MCCC
Guideline online tutoring here at MCCC! Contact: tutoring@mc3.edu.

E-Books, Dictionaries, & Encyclopedias

ARTFL-FRANTEXT
ARTFL-FRANTEXT is the main ARTFL Database, comprising more than 3,600 French-language texts, 215 million words and 675,000 unique word forms. The corpus contains texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
Bibliothèque des Amériques
Free E-Books online by Francophone authors of the Americas (Note: requires registering for a free account).
Collins
Collins French to English and English to French online dictionary is a bespoke text written by experienced French and English language experts using databases of authentic language. This authoritative resource offers language learners everything they need for online lookup from a dictionary they can trust. Collins have for many years partnered with prestigious French publishing house Le Robert with both teams of expert English- and French-speaking lexicographers working jointly on their top-of-the-range French Dictionaries.
French Verbs
Mastering verbs is the key to romance languages for many people. This 6-page eGuide offers easy-to-read tables of conjugations for the 15 verb tenses and moods, with the changes bolded for quick reference. Twenty-two key-example verbs and their meanings are included, with the irregular tenses and moods listed for each verb. Using the example conjugations, this guide becomes a powerful key to unlocking French for communication - and of course for better grades.
Learn French
ePub Version of the best selling French learning program in terms of number of titles sold. Used widely in schools, translation companies, and by tour guides.
Littérature française
Full-text Digital Library offering books and corpora as lexical hypertexts on Creative Commons License.
Constructions in French
The book Constructions in French is the first collected volume to focus on French syntax from a constructionist perspective. It has been written with two kinds of readers in mind: for readers interested in the relationship between the French linguistic tradition and cognitive linguistics, and for readers who would like to examine how constructional analysis can be applied to a variety of French language phenomena. The eleven papers illustrate the insights generated by combining lexicalist and constructionist approaches, focusing on syntax as a dynamic system and using corpus data from a variety of speech genres. The contributions provide new findings about French usage trends (in linguistics and in psycholinguistics), including insights into new, nonstandard and poorly studied constructions.

Print Books

The French Way: The keys to the behavior, attitudes, and customs of the French
Achieve savoir faire and fit into French culture with ease. Written by an internationally renowned expert in French culture, Ross Steele, this second edition of The French Way offers a uniquely impartial and fully up-to-date perspective on French attitudes, tastes, and customs regarding everything from business style (formal) to pets (doted on), conversation (an art form) to humor (satiric, political), love (truly, madly, deeply) to time ("Better late than never!").
A History of French Literature: From Chanson de Gest to Cinema
This magnificent volume provides a complete history of the literature of France from its origins to the present day, taking us beyond traditional definitions of ‘literature' into the world of the best-seller and, beyond words, to graphic fiction and cinema Presents a definitive history of the literature of France from its origins to the present day. Incorporates coverage of Francophone writing in Europe, Canada, the West Indies and North and Sub-Saharan Africa.
Random House French dictionary
More than 60,000 entries, including the most common meanings and many idiomatic expressions.