- MC3 Library
- Library
- Get Help
- Art & Art History
- Reference & Resources for Art History and for Artists
Art & Art History
Web Resources
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History - Developed by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, this resources is a chronological, geographical and thematic tool for learning about art history.
Clara: Database of Women Artists - An interactive database containing authoritative information on 18,000 women visual artists of all time periods and nationalities. The information in Clara® is drawn from the materials in National Museum of Women in the Art's extensive Archives on Women Artists.
Smarthistory - A multimedia, well-organized web-book about art and art history. Smarthistory at Khan Academy is the leading open educational resource for art history.
College Art Association News Archives - You can download full, intact issues of CAA News from Summer 1976 to July 2010 as PDF files.
Keeping the Artist Safe: Hazards of Arts and Crafts Materials - This is a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services website that houses resources for further research. Topics range from product guides to waste management of hazardous substances, and includes Información en Español.
Artforum Magazine - this was the artists' art magazine for many generations. This link leads to the website for the magazine only.
Art of the Western World Series (Annenberg videos) Classic series on Western art, suggested by your art history faculty.
How Art Made the World : all of this art history series is available on Youtube, also suggested by your art history faculty.
- International WORLD ART RESOURCES (more to come soon!)
South Asia: Map Encyclopedia of South Asian Art
African continent: Art and Life in Africa
East Asia: Timeline and maps for East Asian art history
SE Asia: Smart History:SE Asia
Pacific and Australia/NZ Smart History Oceania
Latin America Latin American art- an introduction
Americas: Indigenous Smart History Before 1900
Some recent First Nations artists
- SEE THE IMAGES FOR ARTISTS tab to the left FOR MANY MORE RESOURCES
Journals & Ebooks for Artists & Art History
The Art Student Survival Guide by Call Number: N325 .O88 2005ISBN: 9781401843656Publication Date: 2004-09-09Creatively blending a mixture of one-on-one guidance, practical advice, and inspirational examples, this innovative book provides the essential tools and tips that will make the journey through art school an inspiring and rewarding trip.
Comics Versus Art by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781442612044Publication Date: 2012-07-17On the surface, the relationship between comics and the 'high' arts once seemed simple; comic books and strips could be mined for inspiration, but were not themselves considered legitimate art objects. Though this traditional distinction has begun to erode, the worlds of comics and art continue to occupy vastly different social spaces. Comics Versus Art examines the relationship between comics and the most important institutions of the art world, including museums, auction houses, and the art press. Bart Beaty's analysis centres around two questions: why were comics excluded from the history of art for most of the twentieth century, and what does it mean that comics production is now more closely aligned with the art world? Approaching this relationship for the first time through the lens of the sociology of culture, Beaty advances a completely novel approach to the comics form.
No Laughing Matter by Call Number: EBOOKISBN: 9781611688214Publication Date: 2015-12-01Winner of the Choice Outstanding Academic Title (2016) In the wake of the Charlie Hebdo attacks, this collection—which gathers scholars in the fields of race, ethnicity, and humor—seems especially urgent. Inspired by Denmark’s Muhammad cartoons controversy, the contributors inquire into the role that racial and ethnic stereotypes play in visual humor and the thin line that separates broad characterization as a source of humor from its power to shock or exploit. The authors investigate the ways in which humor is used to demean or give identity to racial, national, or ethnic groups and explore how humor works differently in different media, such as cartoons, photographs, film, video, television, and physical performance. This is a timely and necessary study that will appeal to scholars across disciplines.
